We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where my family arrived in America” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Battery Park

Battery Park
Waterfront, New Castle, DE 19720
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 18 things to do in New Castle
Attraction details
Helena, MT
Top Contributor
650 reviews 650 reviews
205 attraction reviews
Reviews in 514 cities Reviews in 514 cities
302 helpful votes 302 helpful votes
“Where my family arrived in America”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

My great, great (and a few more) grandfather arrived from Belfast Ireland in 1761 right here. I really enjoyed seeing a couple of tall ships on the pier and tried to envision the times. The historic old town helped.

Great place to sit and reflect, to stroll.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    26
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

Love, love, love this place. Gorgeous river veiws, awesome walking trail, beautiful beach area. Really neat to watch the huge barges glide past.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Castle, Delaware
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice place to take a break from everything”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

My Boyfriend and I have went just to walk around, and talk and check it out. It's a very peaceful and pleasant. Great for kids to play on their playgrounds. Great for get togethers also.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Castle, Delaware
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A Beautiful Park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We love to visit Battery Park, stroll along the walkway, sit on a bench and enjoy the breezes coming in from the Delaware River, watch the geese, people-watch.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Castle, Delaware, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice walk along the water”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Battery park is located in Old New Castle. Surrounded by historical buildings and on the water across from New Jersey. It is a great place to bring the kids to play, take a walk and look around. You can go up a walkway to the main center of town to the shops and restaurants.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Battery Park also viewed

 

Been to Battery Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Battery Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.