We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“G O N E” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jack's Bistro at the David Finney Inn - CLOSED

Jack's Bistro at the David Finney Inn
222 Delaware St, Ste 100, New Castle, DE 19720-4855
302-544-5174
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Description: Set in historic Old New Castle, Jack's Bistro offers simple, fresh, flavorful food in a casual, friendly atmosphere. With three dining rooms to choose from, each with it's own style, plus patio seating, it's the perfect place to eat.
New Castle, Delaware, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“G O N E”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

A great place however it is closed now. Nothing took it's place bu the building is very nice and on the historical records. Had great food and drink in its day

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    4
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Castle, Delaware
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“A very nice place.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

It is a shame that this place is no longer there. The meals were very tasty and the atmosphere was romantic.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Patio dining is the best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

Small menu, but what's on there is excellent! I have been many times, and particularly enjoy sitting on the patio w/ my Boston Terrier. They make great cocktails too! I'm so glad the weather is warming up so I can add it back into my spring restaurant rotation.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere, food is average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

I really love the atmosphere in this restaurant. It is clean, bright and inviting. The outdoor patio is one of the nicest places to sit on a sunny afternoon. They also have a decent wine and beer selection. The only problem is that their food is average. Sometimes the dishes can be dry, not enough sauce or over cooked. Sometimes the portion is not adequate for the price and the quiche is the perfect example. It is a tiny piece of quiche with some mixed greens for $8.95. I will recommend the Goat Cheese Salad, Moules Mariniere and Pommes Frites.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Fresh, delicious cuisine in a historic courtyard”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

I'd almost given up finding fresh food properly prepared at a reasonable price, but today's lunch at Jack's Bistro restored my faith. High quality, melt-in-your-mouth, sliced top round with caramelized onions on a bun, homemade cole slaw and crisp thick-cut fries on the side. Delicious sauces on the meat as well as the slaw. My husband's fish and chips was nicely battered and perfectly cooked.

We ordered a starter of hummus and pita chips. The hummus was homemade and very good -- chunky and light, not too garlicky or cloying. The serving was more than enough for two. Sliced pita bread came toasted with a sprinkling of goat cheese, roasted red peppers, and black olives on fresh spinach leaves. Nicely presented.

Our entire lunch came to $40, including two specialty drinks. A bargain -- especially given the ambience and the service, which was delightful.

This was our first visit to New Castle, DE. We stopped for lunch while traveling scenic Route 9 in Delaware. What a terrific experience. The restaurant is located in the historic district downtown -- beautiful inside with private rooms off the main dining area and a fairly large bar. With the temps close to 70, however, we opted to eat in their courtyard out back. Hard to beat a table seating under hundred-year old trees turning bright autumn colors in a historic brick courtyard.

I highly recommend a tour of the town afterwards -- better than Williamsburg! Brick sidewalks, gas lamps, a river walk, nice little stores, beautiful homes. Unfortunately, the museums were closed on the Tuesday we visited, but I believe they are open Wed-Sun. They were stringing Christmas lights on the light poles. We will definitely be back!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jack's Bistro at the David Finney Inn also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jack's Bistro at the David Finney Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.