We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel - The Belle

Clarion Hotel - The Belle
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Hotel - The Belle to your Saves list
Clarion Hotel - The Belle
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1612 North DuPont Highway, New Castle, DE 19720   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in New Castle
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Very Nice Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We liked the staff here as they were helpful and friendly. The single king room we had was clean and comfortable. The bath was large and clean with plenty of towels. The bed was comfortable. TV worked OK and had a reasonable number of channels. We found the unit to be relatively quiet. There was a wedding reception happening the weekend we stayed but we never heard much WI-Fi worked very well for us during our entire three day stay. The breakfast area is very nice with a nice variety of food. Although the hotel was full here was still enough room in the breakfast seating area. We'd stay here again.

TIP: Both our rental car GPS and Google Maps had a hard time finding this hotel. The rental GPS never did find it and Google Maps did finally get us there but we had to go a long way out of the way to do it. So when you see the Route 13 North exit, take it and you'll be at the hotel. If you don't you'll see the hotel as you drive by on the Interstate and wonder, "isn't that the hotel?" Signs are clearly visible off of Route 13 North.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelleGM, General Manager at Clarion Hotel - The Belle, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about our property and I am glad that you had a nice stay. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    32
    17
    8
    2
See reviews for
26
25
9
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Atlantic City, NJ
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Stayed Nov. 8-10th for a foundation event nearby. We got a great price by signing up for the hotel chains membership club. Check-in was simple, even an hour early! Room was clean and comfortable. Ate in the restaurant Augusta Grille one night and got room service once. Food was great. Service not so much. Read my review about it. Overall great stay. I would definitely recommend.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelleGM, General Manager at Clarion Hotel - The Belle, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, I will be sharing your comments to all departments so that the positive comments are enjoyed and the not so much is used for education. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EastCoastUSA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

I was expecting much more from this pet-friendly hotel, especially for the price.

The room seemed fine, the bath was acceptable.
The problem came when I needed to retrieve a dropped article from under a small wooden table in the room. The legs of the table were covered with blue fuzzy mold. And I mean really really covered.
If we had been staying more than one night I would have reported the mold that evening.

Upon check-out early the next morning the desk person could not have cared less about the mold.
In fact, she made no comment at all when we brought it to her attention. I wrote a letter to the hotel chain and received a form-letter reply stating "they hoped my second stay would be better". There will be no second stay.

Except for the mold the hotel was perfectly adequate for a layover from MA to NC. However, the mold and employee indifference will keep me from returning.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelleGM, General Manager at Clarion Hotel - The Belle, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Please accept my apologies for the issues you experienced during your stay. Certainly, our housekeeping staff should have been on top of the cleanliness of the table legs, but even more disconcerting to me, is the treatment you received at checkout. All comments we receive, good or not, are shared with our entire staff, in order to improve our guest experience.

Thank you for bringing this to our attention and we hope that you will allow us another opportunity to offer you a great stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We had an early flight to Chicago and I was looking for a good, clean hotel near the New Castle Airport the night before. When we arrived the toilet was not flushing, so we were immediately transferred to a larger room. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. The nice surprises were the bed and pillows were great and they offered courtesy parking with a shuttle van to and from the airport. The driver was on time to the airport, but unfortunately he left us waiting 25 minutes on the return pick up. Other than the driver taking his time to pick us up, I would highly recommend this hotel, especially for airport trips since it is only 4 minutes away.

Room Tip: Very long hallways, make sure you are near the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelleGM, General Manager at Clarion Hotel - The Belle, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
We thank you for sharing your experience and hope that we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medway, MA
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here one night. When we first walked in the chemical smell was overbearing. The room did appear to be clean, however I did find a black smudge on one of the pillowcases and a hair in the towels. But here is the kicker, my husband and I were exhausted as we began our day at 4 AM and helped our son move into an apartment at UD, so we slept separately in each double bed. In the morning after breakfast we decided to use our rooms bathroom. We had not checked out and it was not past the checkout time. When we arrived in the room, they had stripped only one bed and removed only the pillowcase from the pillow I used. They left the sheets on the bed I slept in. Thankfully I took a shower right before bed but frankly I find this quite disturbing! Not sure if I would stay here again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelleGM, General Manager at Clarion Hotel - The Belle, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Please accept my apologies for our housekeeping staff not understanding that you had not left the property. I will work with our staff to make sure that they verify the staus of our guests in a better fashion. I hope that you will offer us another chance to show you that your comments help us to improve our service and accommodations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakton
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Nice quite hotel. Selected for its pet friendly status though I didn't need to use it but nice to know it was available. Staff was very friendly. Room was clean. Bed/pillows were great. Better than usual hotel breakfast. Will use again when in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelleGM, General Manager at Clarion Hotel - The Belle, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for your praise as well as your suggestion. We are currently reviewing how we may make some changes to the breakfast area to improve the flow. I hope that the next time you stay, those changes will be ready and that you approve. Look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mashpee, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed there overnight on a recent trip down rt95. I was using Choice Hotel points so I can't comment on price/value.

The lobby and front desk staff were very nice upon check-in.

The room was clean and a decent size. Linens were crisp, clean and not worn down. The beds were comfortable.

The breakfast are is too small for the numbers of people trying to use it. The staff did keep it stocked and cleaned.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelleGM, General Manager at Clarion Hotel - The Belle, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
We appreciate your comments and will see what we can do to spread out the breakfast area a bit. Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Hotel - The Belle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel - The Belle

Address: 1612 North DuPont Highway, New Castle, DE 19720
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > New Castle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in New Castle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel - The Belle 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step into a gracious world of Southern Hospitality, with an ideal blend of modern elegance and classic charm. All rooms offer LCD HD TV's, Microwave, refrigerator, Coffee Maker, Hair Dryer, Iron & Board, MP3 Clock/Radio. Augusta Grille Restaurant and Lounge on premise,. Meeting and Ballroom space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Clarion Hotel - The Belle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Castle Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel - The Belle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.