We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the best in Delaware” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Krazy Kat's at The Inn at Montchanin Village

Krazy Kat's at The Inn at Montchanin Village
514 Montchanin Road, Inn at Montchanin Village, Montchanin, DE 19710
302-888-4200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Krazy Kat's at The Inn at Montchanin Village is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Montchanin
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Rockland Road
Beckley, West Virginia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Probably the best in Delaware”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

I had wanted to eat at Krazy Kat's for over 20 years. It did not disappoint. It is not for people in a hurry--it is an elegant meal served in the traditional way. However, the menu is eclectic and features many items never seen before on a menu --my brother ate wild boar. The thing that I really loved is that they featured a full size entree and a half size entree. That allowed a small eater (me) to eat without guilt. It would also let a big eater try two different fabulous entrees. Note that if you have a large party, they add the gratuity. I never even looked at the check and just gave a credit card, but my ever frugal father immediately keyed into this. They were very gracious about straightening it out and I even left a tip above their minimum 18%--don't tell my father. This place is definitely not for children and would be a wonderful place for a romantic occasion dinner.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    42
    15
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, Delaware
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fantasy new menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

The new chef has a great updated menu. We had a exceptional meal from start to finish and the service was outstanding. The bloody marys are fabulous and the new desserts are excellent. The wild game dishes were perfectly done.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield County
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Lovely Restaurant at Inn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Charming restaurant at Inn. Decor country French and cozy. Great Cat and Dog paintings. Food is very good. Great breakfasts. Need reservations even for breakfast as restaurant is small and very popular. Reservation system for restaurant is not very reliable--only problem we had at Inn. Waitstaff very good.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
Top Contributor
288 reviews 288 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

The French style fare is excellent and the ambience is first rate. The wine list and service are also great. There is a separate breakfast room with lots of open view and light. The front desk/reservation system for this restaurant is a bit confused and accordingly, I recommend that you double check your arrangements. The service once inside is far better than the reception one receives when entering the restaurant.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallkill
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“A side trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Krazy Kat's is a little out of the way but still on our way to DC. We normally stop for a good meal at lunch time both for the food and to break up the trip. This trip we went out of our way a little and are glad that we did. We have eaten here several times over the years and have never been disappointed. Service is excellent, décor outstanding and the fare is fantastic. I would recommend this place without hesitation

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Krazy Kat's at The Inn at Montchanin Village also viewed

 

Been to Krazy Kat's at The Inn at Montchanin Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Krazy Kat's at The Inn at Montchanin Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.