We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grotto Pizza

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Grotto Pizza
102 Silicato Way, Highway One, Milford, DE
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 58 Restaurants in Milford
Cuisines: Pizza
Dining options: Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Falls Church, Virginia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Family Place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

This is a good place if you have children -- the staff looks out for them. Otherwise, this is a fairly generic pizza place. The service is fine, the food is fine. This may not sound like the most ringing review, but if you are looking for a straightforward pizza experience with little fuss -- this is your place!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    10
    9
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milford, Delaware
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Horribly priced mediocre pizza”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

When I first moved here to this charming Delaware small town, i didn't know any better.
This "famous" pizza is infamous.
I had it delivered. It took forever.
It was cold. It was soggy. The crust was too thick and too sweet. The sauce was too sweet. Lord knows where they get their sausage, but if I knew, it would be the last place on earth I'd get sausage.
I admit I'm originally from Jersey, and therefore have high standards for pizza. But this disappointing disc of soggy mess was even more insulting because it was inexcusably overpriced.
Avoid this place. Take the time to drive to Frederica if you're hankering for a quality pie.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Excellent service and pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

First time to visit. The service was excellent. Everyone was friendly and the restaurant was clean. The personal pizza was excellent and my drink was refilled quickly. My waitress told me about the Swirl club and I joined. Even though they have a bar, it is closed off by some glass so the main room is family friendly. The gelato looked delicious but I didn't have room for dessert. I will return when I'm in the area for sure.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Okay, I guess.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Only been there twice. Both times the food was ok, but the carpeting is filthy dirty and I find that I just want to get out of there.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Delaware
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good food but EXPENSIVE”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We went there Friday for dinner and while the food was good, I thought it was incredibly EXPENSIVE. We had a cup of milk (for my son), one soda, one water, a small pizza, and a burger and fries for $31!
It's a fairly nice facility but I can get much better deals elsewhere.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grotto Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Grotto Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grotto Pizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.