We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful seashore retreat!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Blue Water House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lewes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Blue Water House
Save
You added The Blue Water House to your Saves list
407 East Market Street, Lewes, DE 19958   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Lewes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
springfield, va
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A wonderful seashore retreat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2009

After reading the old reviews we hesitantly called to make a reservation at the Blue Water House. We arrived a little bit early and met Angie Foster, the new innkeeper who took over in November. This was her third weekend open after doing some major clean up/fix ups to what she described as a run down property. We stayed in the Blue Parrot room, a colorful and cheerfully decorated room with a king size bed, a comfy sofa, a frig, microwave, and VCR. It was a corner room that was light and bright. BWH is 3 blocks from the beach and three blocks from town--an ideal location for us. There were bikes to ride, beach chairs to use, and a huge video library. The best part of the weekend were the sensational breakfasts that Angie made and the fresh baked cookies and brownies that she left out to munch on in the afternoons. She is an energetic young woman, whose talent and enthusiasm for runninng a quality inn was apparent. We, too, had baked oatmeal with vanilla yogurt, cheesy grits, homemade waffles with bananas and pecans, and an egg casserole. She only uses fresh and organic ingredients. Angie asked when we made the reservation if we had any dietary restrictions or needs, as she tries to accommodate these. The biggest disappointment was having to leave!!! There are a few kinks that are being addressed but none of them at all interferred with us having a lovely weekend at the shore. We can't wait to return someday soon.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    29
    9
    5
    2
See reviews for
43
128
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2009

Please ignore the reviews from 2008 or before. A new manager was hired to run the inn late last year. She closed down the inn for two months, gave it a total facelift, and has been doing a great job of providing an unforgettable B&B experience. The Blue Water Inn has bright, colorful, tropical decor. Each room is unique. Most have balconies. Best of all, the top (fourth) floor is a common lounge with a 360-degree view--a great place to watch the sunset (or sunrise).

But perhaps the most memorable part of our stay in Lewes was the outstanding breakfast our hostess prepared for us: Baked oatmeal, quiche, homemade granola, fruit, and more--all organic and fresh.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2009

My husband and I had a friend/colleague visiting from the UK and thought that Lewes and the area beaches, wildlife refuges and state parks would be a nice intro to the coast, history and landscape of our area. And we wanted to be in a place that was convenient to good food too. Angie, the new innkeeper at Blue Water House, accommodated our need for a one night stay and was very flexible about when we arrived. She offered us excellent local referrals for dining and provided us with one of the better breakfasts we've had at a BnB. Our rooms were spacious, colorful, generally well-kept, with terrific beds and luxurious bedding. The location, in a residential area, just across the canal from "downtown" was convenient, if not terribly scenic. All three of us were really taken by the quirky decor and would definitely recommend the inn. Sandy from MD

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Coast, US
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2008

The only thing going for this place is the location. Close to town and the beach.

On to the bad (and there is a lot!):
* Breakfast was terrible every day!!! Especially on the day the food preparer was vomiting all morning (as the part-time manager gave us later as an excuse)!
* Room was disgusting - Moldy/musty smell all around, ceiling decoration over bed had apparently fallen out of the ceiling and there were a couple of holes where the fixture used to be. Dust fell from the holes... The dresser drawers were broken. The bathroom fan was caked in mold.
* This is no longer an "adult" inn. There were numerous children on site during our stay. Their policy is now to accept families, even though it was not stated on their web site at the time.
* There is no inkeeper on site and all outside doors are left unlocked. The spare keys to all of the rooms are at the unmanned front desk. We were greeted with a note on the desk telling us where our room was and found the key in the door.
* Theft - Pharmaceutical prescriptions were stolen from luggage.
* Paper thin walls - We got to hear our next door neighbors chat until late at night.
* Really bad maid service - No fresh towels, soap, shampoo, etc. They did manage to make the bed though. Good luck finding somebody to help... The innkeeper is only moonlighting part time as he has another full time job.
* We were so disgusted that we left to move to another nearby inn (A half block away) and paid quite a bit more just to salvage our vacation.

Nobody is minding inn!!!

The inn badly needs an overhaul and a full time manager. Don't go here expecting a relaxing vacation at an inn with no children.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Poor managment, neglect of the inn
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lewesbeach09, New Innkeeper/Live-in Manager of The Blue Water House as of Dec 21st 2009 at The Blue Water House, responded to this review, February 16, 2009
Hello, my name is Angela Foster and I am writing in response to the awful reviews that The Blue Water House has received this past year. I am the new innkeeper and agree with most of what was written. Having been a travel agent (who has stayed in a ton of BnBs), I made the decision to go to culinary school four years ago with the dream to someday run my own bed and breakfast. I received my oppurtunity this past December when the owner of The Blue Water House contacted me to run the inn as full-time manager and live on-premise. It has gone through major neglect and decline this past year but it's a wondrous home in the most beautiful location and all it's needed is a ton of TLC.

So here I am living my dream! We've closed down the inn for the past three months, attending to every little detail that has been meticulously addressed in the reviews on TripAdvisor... and then some. We have over-hauled the kitchen and dining room (which I am most excited about as I can't wait to start re-creating all of my favorite breakfast pastries) and have turned the 4th floor Lookout into a beautiful area to relax complete with a wet bar and panoramic views of Lewes, the canal, bay and Cape Henlopen State Park in the distance. But, most importantly, the inn will be locked at all times with guests needing a passcode to enter into the keypad lock to enter.

I hope everyone will come back and give The Blue Water House a try again. It's a lovely BnB and I enjoy living here very much. I look forward to re-opening on March 6th, welcoming, cooking, and baking for everyone.

Thank you for your time,
Angela Foster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2008

We paid for our May 2007 using our debit card and were charged twice. It is now September 2008 and they have not refunded our money, despite having sent them a copy of our personal bank statement demonstrating that they charged us twice! Fortuntately we have access to an attorney through our workplace. If they refund our money, I will certainly re-post. This is not a fake review and Judith Davidson is well aware but unresponsive to this situation. Aside from the finanical problem, I was underwhelmed by the experience there in general and would not recommend Blue Water House to anyone.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — they double charged us and refuse to refund our money!
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW YORK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2008

We spent a couple of days here midweek and had a good time.
The only thing that bothered us was all the balconies are connected together on the 3rd floor, therefore we did not feel comfortable leaving our terrace door open at night. Since there are no other windows that can be open in the room we had to use the loud AC. Slept well anyway but would have been nice to enjoy that cool summer breeze. Some people have talked about the lack of anybody around but it didn't detract from our stay. I guess if they feel it is secure enough to have nobody watching the place thats a good thing. We even thought of going back for an afternoon snack before leaving town. There were plenty of towels, umbrellas,bikes and ice. Yes, the walls are thin but its not a wild scene.

  • Liked — locaton
  • Disliked — terrace
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2008

A group of us wanted a quiet beach getaway close to DC and found Blue Water Inn online. I always get nervous when I book over the Internet, but the Inn was just as charming as its website photos.
There's a wrap-around deck so all the rooms on the third floor -- where we were -- have an outdoor area with chairs and tables. The beds were comfy and the breeze so exquisite, we slept with the porch door open almost every night.
The Inn's location is perfect -- a short walk to the beach one way or over the bridge to the town of Lewes the other way.
Breakfast, served buffet-style, was delicious and there was plenty of it. There was always a hot dish -- scrambled eggs, quiche, potatoes, bacon or sausage, etc -- as well as some yummy yogurt/fruit parfaits and fruit slices. They also had do-it-yourself waffles, which my friends loved but was beyond my morning dexterity. Although breakfast officially closed at 10 a.m., they seemed to leave stuff out till at least 10:30 a.m. for stragglers or people who just wanted more.
The Inn also provided free beach bikes and locks, which we used for a tour of Lewes. They also provided free beach towels.
I noticed other comments that said management was absent. And that's true later in the day. But I'm not quite sure why that's a problem. One rainy day we wanted to use the Inn's fourth-floor "turret" room as our hangout and we just went and got some plates and knives from the kitchen and had a lunch of fruit and cheese we'd bought in town, while watching the storm blow by with a 360-degree view. It was great! We didn't really need someone to show us where the cutlery was and when we were done we just rinsed the dishes and knives off and left them outside our rooms to be collected the next morning. In effect, we were treated like adults. I like that!
Lewes itself is a great destination. We didn't have one bad lunch or dinner and there are all kinds of cool shops, including a combination gourmet foods and puzzle store just over the bridge that's worth a visit.
The only downside to the Inn is that the walls are rather thin and you can clearly hear people in the next room. But Lewes in general, and Blue Water in particular, don't seem to attract the kind of crowd that parties into the wee hours, so that was not a problem on our trip.
All I can say is, we're going again.

  • Liked — Quality accomodations and treated like adults
  • Disliked — Walls a bit thin
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Blue Water House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blue Water House

Address: 407 East Market Street, Lewes, DE 19958
Location: United States > Delaware > Lewes
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Lewes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Water House in Lewes, DE is a casual beach bed & breakfast a short walk from the beautiful Delaware Bay beaches. Make our house your next stop today! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Water House Hotel Lewes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Blue Water House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.