We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Blue Water House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lewes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Blue Water House
Save
You added The Blue Water House to your Saves list
407 East Market Street, Lewes, DE 19958   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Lewes B&B and Inns
norristown, PA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Very nice cheerful place. Decorated in Key West theme. Our room was spotless, had a nice balcony with chairs and a table, air conditioning worked great luckily since it was a very hot week. King sized bed was so comfortable. About two blocks from the beach which was nice. The innkeeper Rick was so nice, very laid back and friendly and we loved his little side-kick Lola. The extras you get at this inn cannot be compared....towels, bikes, sunscreen, toiletries at the front desk of you forgot something, snacks, wine and beer and juices and a big icy container of cold water out front available at all times which was great. Nice shady sitting area underneath with funky furniture to sit on and a yard area with chairs and a hammock. They do allow children and babies so you may hear kids but overall a very nice experience!

Room Tip: We had the Little Palm room. King sized bed, balcony view of the front entrance, new modern bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    27
    9
    5
    2
See reviews for
42
120
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Just returned from staying two nights at the Blue Water House and even though it rained two out of the three days we were there, I couldn't find one negative to say about our stay because of this charming B&B and the impressive owner, Rick, who seems to do it all himself (and without flaw). Anything you could want is free and available to guests, including snacks, drinks, bikes, and even bug spray and sun lotion. Rick puts trust in his guests to not take advantage of his kindness, and at least from what we say, no one did. The breakfasts were great, especially our second morning when we came down to find Rick in the kitchen offering to make us made-to-order pancakes. The location is fantastic, only a block from the beach, and a few blocks to the downtown area with shops and restaurants. I enjoyed this town that took us away from it all, and hope tourists don't take it over anytime soon!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a 3-night stay at the Blue Water House in Lewes, DE. We were looking forward to a few relaxing days on the beach and walking the streets of the charming town. Both were accomplished. I hesitate to mention anything negative about the Blue Water House because Rick, the owner, was more than welcoming and accommodating. The B&B is just as other reviewers have described - filled with lots of kitsch, color and warmth. However, I failed to ask the right questions regarding the policy about dogs. Not only does the owner have a dog who lives in the house (and was not a nuisance at all), but guests can bring dogs. And these dogs, although I'm sure are all wonderful family pets, were a little too much apparent for me. One morning we entered the breakfast room to find a family there with a huge dog, unleashed, sitting by their side. They asked if I was bothered by the dog (I'm sure they could see it on my face) and abruptly left when I said I was uncomfortable. So for those of you who like/own dogs, this is a great place for you to enjoy with/without your pet. But for others like me who don't enjoy having dogs underfoot, I suggest you select another place to stay in Lewes.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick3225, Owner at The Blue Water House, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Customers are what make my B&B wonderful, however you not only failed to ask about our pet policy, you never brought your concern about the dog to my attention during your stay. I service dogs hardships. I allow a small percentage of dogs. It is almost non-existent. We are not a kennel. We have strict policies for a guest dog. Sometimes a guest does not follow our instructions. A dog in the dining area is a valid complaint...but to embellish is misleading and false. Your 3 day visit out of 365 days is less than 1% of the calender year. Please don't assume what happens at my B&B on a daily basis. You are entitled to an opinion but the facts are clearly wrong. I'm glad you are choosing another place in Lewes to visit. It is a great town with great end!
Rick and his dog Lola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

I had read a lot of really great reviews about this place and I just wanted to say that they are all deserved. One of the most comfortable stays I've ever had anywhere. We all felt welcome, relaxed, comfortable. I would highly recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I look forward to my next visit at the Blue Water House. Rick (founder and manager) thought of everything: free towels, beach chairs, bikes, sunscreen, bottled water, snacks and more are at guests' disposal at all times. He's natural, sincere and has got a wonderful, caring personality. And man oh man does he have an eye for color and decor. The rooms are beautiful and the whole place has a lot of heart. The location couldn't be better: just a short walk from the bay beach and downtown Lewes and a quick bike ride to Cape Henlopen state park / ocean beach. I highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

This motel is a gem! Excellent access to the beach or town, charming rooms, outstanding service and delightful ambiance. Rick goes out of his way to ensure your stay is stress free, including ice cold water, sun screen, beach towels and delicious breakfast. I am very picky about hearing other guests and, while it's not sound proof, it's incredibly quiet -- especially with the air conditioning on. We had a balcony that was charming and the room was a good size and super clean. It was everything we wanted for our get-away to Lewes!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We've stayed in a lot of B&B's over the years - without question this is the best one we've ever stayed at. Rick is a charming and helpful host - it's almost like you are staying at the beach with a friend. There is artwork and sculpture everywhere, with a bright cheerful Key West color scheme. The rooms are well appointed, comfortable and nicely decorated - the pictures don't do them justice (we got to peek in almost all the rooms as we were there in the middle of the week when they were empty.) Rick serves a hot breakfast in the morning, but there is yogurt, fresh fruit and cereal and several baked goodies. Other goodies including cookies and licorice are available in the afternoons. Bicycles, towels, umbrellas, sunscreen, aloe, bug repellant - I think Rick has thought of everything anyone could possibly need at the beach. And the place was very quiet, which was wonderful. The beach is 2 blocks away, and the town has several good restaurants.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely, the ones on the 3rd floor have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Blue Water House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blue Water House

Address: 407 East Market Street, Lewes, DE 19958
Location: United States > Delaware > Lewes
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Lewes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Water House in Lewes, DE is a casual beach bed & breakfast a short walk from the beautiful Delaware Bay beaches. Make our house your next stop today! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Water House Hotel Lewes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Blue Water House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.