We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't Wait to Go Back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Blue Water House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lewes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Blue Water House
Save
You added The Blue Water House to your Saves list
407 East Market Street, Lewes, DE 19958   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Lewes B&B and Inns
Denver, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Can't Wait to Go Back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Rick has thought of every detail. My wife and I enjoyed our weekend getaway arriving Friday night to find details for immediate check in. After unpacking, we enjoyed complimentary wine (beer was available too) and snacks for a happy hour in our room. Breakfast was great - plenty of selections. Rick is very modest about his excellent culinary skills. Sunday he even provided Scrapple at the request of another couple staying. Everything we needed was within walking distance, and bikes are available for guest use. Lola was helpful, and Rick's customer service was exceptional. We were hoping for some warmer weather, but it really wasn't a factor in our fantastic stay at the Blue Water House. We can't wait to go back!! Great job Rick!

Room Tip: We had the Key West with view of the canal area and some view of the bay. I highly suggest it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    27
    9
    5
    2
See reviews for
42
120
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lewes, Delaware
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Very comfortable, very convenient, very charming. Innkeeper Rick Quill and his queenly dog Lola are wonderful hosts. I enjoyed being able to have my morning coffee and my evening glass of wine on the porch, watching the birds. Breakfast-to-order was excellent. I am moving to the area soon, and I only regret that I will be living at my own house and not here. :)

Room Tip: Key Largo has a lovely porch swing.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hummelstown, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We were really impressed with the hospitality of the host, Rick, in making our stay comfortable. We loved the water available on all levels of the building, and the snacks, kitchen, and drinks available for guests. It was a dream come true! The decor is truly inspiring with its bright colors reminiscent of Key West. Cleanliness was also a main plus for the B & B. The breakfast was great, too. I usually like a simple fruit and bread breakfast, and Rick had both. He prepared french toast and sausage for the heavier eaters in our group, but there were light foods like fruit and yogurt and English muffins and bagles for lighter eaters. Truly the best B & B we have ever visited.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somers Point, NJ
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Key West only a ferry ride away! You will not find a more relaxing stay and accommodating host anywhere. Just a five minute walk to the canal front, restaurants and shops of "downtown" Lewes. Plenty of bikes provided by Rick along with all types of snacks, bottled water, wine, beer, hammocks, private balconies, nine coolly themed and appointed rooms and common areas, and so much more. Great price! Just two minutes from the ferry, the beach and Cape Henlopen State Park. We cannot wait to go back and hope to be regulars. Excellent Place!!

Room Tip: Key West room was awesome! Great corner balcony with hammock, table and chairs facing west.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birdsboro, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

This is our first stay at a bed and breakfast. We have always been a little skittish about them but The Blue Water House and Rick and Lola have sold us! The house is so lovingly kept, decorated and cared for, the rooms comfy and accomodating. There were so many things readily available, water, wine, beer, snacks, bikes.........Rick is friendly, informative and available whenever you need him without making you feel 'hoovered over' . A great bike ride to the beach, as well as the quaint town for dinner or shopping, a short drive to Rehobeth and Kenwick Isle and the seashell shop with the diving salvage museum upstairs, all made for a wonderful weekend. We look forward to doing it all again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

The moment we walked in we knew we reserved the right place. It has a ton of character, it's very very clean, warm and welcoming. Rick is great and makes you feel right at home. There are always snacks and drinks available and the breakfasts are delicious. We had never been to Lewes before, but decided to go because it's a cute small town by the sea and away from the crazy city. We will definitely be back to the Blue Water House because of Lewes and because this place is a real find. It's very close to everything, and the center of town is a quick walk away. The wrap-around porch is great, the bed we had was amazingly comfortable. It's clear a lot of love goes into this place. And Lola the dog is an adorable highlight!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffern, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

The rooms are wonderfully decorated and very clean. Lots of art work around, very welcoming owner, super breakfast and always available snack food. The house is perfectly located between historic Lewes and the beach and within easy reach of Henlopen State Park. A gem!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Blue Water House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blue Water House

Address: 407 East Market Street, Lewes, DE 19958
Location: United States > Delaware > Lewes
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Lewes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Water House in Lewes, DE is a casual beach bed & breakfast a short walk from the beautiful Delaware Bay beaches. Make our house your next stop today! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Water House Hotel Lewes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Blue Water House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.