We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice for a beautiful off season getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rodney

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lewes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Rodney
Save
You added Hotel Rodney to your Saves list
142 Second Street, Lewes, DE 19958   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lewes
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
“Nice for a beautiful off season getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2009

My wife and I took a trip this weekend for a romantic getaway. The hotel is wonderful and was clean . We loved our room and that we were right in downtown Lewes. Customer service could be better. I would stay there again. There are may great places to eat with in walking distance of the Hotel. Right across the street is Agave Mexican and that is very good.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    47
    20
    11
    5
See reviews for
20
88
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, MD
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2009

As a mother of four pre-teens and teens, my husband was dismayed when I suggested we take our kids with us on our "romantic get-away" scheduled at Hotel Rodney. It is, after all, a very sexy and sophisticated spot in the middle of a town overflowing with charm and tradition. But I called the manger of the hotel and explained that my family needed to reconnect after weeks of conflicting sports schedules, football games and homework. She found us THE PERFECT accommodations - a king suite with two day beds and a king size bed for us and our two boys, and a room right next door with two twin beds for my teenage girls. The girls felt like Eloise and the boys each had their own flat screen TV's for simultaneous sports watching. What could get better?

Try the amazing bed and bedding, the fabulous shower head and the stellar service, just to name a few. The prices were AMAZING for the quality stay we experienced. I would HGHLY recommend Hotel Rodney for either a romantic getaway or a decadent jaunt with the whole family. Quality time at beaches, outlets, restaurants and wine bars - and twenty bucks and a great ice cream parlor buys you 15 romantic minutes alone with your husband.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wilmington, del.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2009

As frequent travelers to Lewes, we were eager to try out Hotel Rodney, the new, hipper incarnation of a hotel we had patronized a number of times before but had gotten kind of run down at the heels.

We were surprised at how much the rates had risen -- we paid $189 in a beach resort on Sept. 28 -- but after seeing pictures of the cool new renovation we thought it would be worth the bucks.

Hotel Rodney does look much nicer, with a retro inspired black-and-white theme in the lobby. It is much cleaner and outdated bathrooms have been supplanted with black-and-white tile baths (altho our room had only a shower, no tub).

But the level of service has not advanced. We were responsible for lugging our own luggage into a cramped lift and up to the third floor. (I also observed a woman traveling solor, madder than a wet Blue Hen, dragging her bags to her room).

Our room had a very nice TV but no iron and ironing board. Outside, parking was inadequate. When we said there was no place in the lot, Robert, the guy at the desk invited us to park in the bank lot next door -- as long as moved the car by 9 a.m. the next morning.

In the old days, the hotel's very reasonable rates also included a hearty continental breakfast. No such luck these days.And guests must pay an additional $5 for Internet access in the "business center" in the lobby, which consists of two PCs. We understand there is a fitness center in the basement but it was locked up tight so we didn't see it.

As an example of how poor the service is in this hotel, here is a very personal experience. My husband, who walks with a cane, fell in the lobby. When I asked if Robert could please, PLEASE help me get him to our room he said, sorry, he had to watch the elevator to make certain no one gets stuck.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2009

I just made a reservation for 2 rooms, 4 guests for end of October. The e-mail confirmation was for 1 room, 2 guests with the wrong checkout date and it was addressed to "Mr Katherine..." When I called to correct this the receptionist was not at all concerned or apologetic.

Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2009

This was our first time staying here and we were not sure what to expect. We were pleasantly suprised at the beautiful accomodations and lobby. It has a cozy B&B feel and is right on the main street in Lewes. The town is very charming and the hotel fits right in. Shops and restaurants are right outside the door. The parking was limited but we never had a problem getting a space. Only potenital negatives were that the rooms are very small and the lighting in the room was dark. It is an old Inn so the charm out weighs the space issue and the rooms are clean and decorated beautifully. Ask for a room on the top floor if they have one as the walls are thin and if you have guests above you it can get rather noisey. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dnpinva
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
101 hotel reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2009

If you are looking to stay in Lewes, this is probably the best for the money. Although I would hesitate to call it swanky, it is a very cool, stylish hotel. The rooms are nice. The flat screen tvs are great. The AC is state of the art. The hotel's restaurant Beseme has one of the most interesting menus I have seen, and the food is delicious. The rooms are kept up really well and tastefully decorated. You definitely get your money's worth here. The only drawback was the tiring drive between Lewes and Rehoboth in Labor Day weekend traffic. It can take up to 30-40 minutes via Route 1 even though it is only 4-6 miles away. Lewes is a cool town -- but it's also far quieter than Rehoboth, Dewey, Ocean City, etc. and quite a bit older. I would definitely recommend Cape Henlopen Park up the street. Gorgeous!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2009

Wasn't quite as swanky as we thought it would be, and that was ok. A very nice, quiet place. Room rate was in line with what other places were charging, but our room was very small. Not a lot of amenities, so if that's what you're after you should look elsewhere. Kind, informative staff, great locale in the heart of Lewes. Didn't see a single child there during our stay.

We brought our bikes, but they do have them available. The bike ride to the closest beach was less then five minutes. The restaurant that is in the hotel had a good breakfast, though expensive.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Rodney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rodney

Address: 142 Second Street, Lewes, DE 19958
Location: United States > Delaware > Lewes
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lewes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Rodney is a boutique style hotel fashioned after classic New York style hotels. The hotel has its home in the heart of historic Lewes, Delaware, which is known for being the first town in the first state. The hotel is located in a building built in 1926, on the Historical Registry, on property originally owned by members of the historically famous Rodney family. At the Hotel Rodney the staff and management strive to meet all of our guests needs and offer a gym and business center as well as 24 hour front desk service. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rodney Hotel Lewes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Rodney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.