We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels authentic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taste of Italy

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Taste of Italy
Fourth Street, Lewes, DE
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 75 Restaurants in Lewes
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
Elizabethtown, Pennsylvania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Feels authentic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

When we're in Lewes this is always a must stop at place. We love the pizza and the subs which are made with real Italian meat - not "lunch" meat. There aren't many tables so come early or late if you don't want to wait. Even if you don't go for a meal they have a deli counter where you can get meat, cheese, fresh sub rolls and the most delicious pepperoni.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    7
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kensington, Maryland
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Ialian Thru and Thru”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Everything Italian. Terrific selection of cheeses, salamis, pastas, etc. Canned and jarred goodies! and wonderful sandwiches. You can in in and take out. Not really a restaurant, but there are a few tables and they seem to be occupied during lunch time.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Decent”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Not sure why everyone raves about this place. It was okay. We got a house specialty pasta dish, a large pepperoni pizza, a cream puff, an eclair and a napoleon. Everything but the pasta was very average (actually the napoleon was below average - just tasted like old sugar). And, the pasta was not outstanding, although it was very good. Not sure if this place is a chain. I wouldn't have thought so but I'm pretty sure I also saw one in Rehoboth Beach.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington,De
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Always good and friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Always consistently tasty with friendly service .Not many tables at the Lewes,De downtown location so we try to get in early evening

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great Italian Food in Lewes!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

On a recent trip to Lewes, DE we stopped in a Taste of Italy one evening. It's a small restaurant - salumeria on the corner of a main street in Lewes. The restaurant side was very small and very crowded; the salumeria side was also very small and crowded. We left because it was obvious there would be a huge wait. However, it was obvious everyone was having a great time, the dinners looked delicious, and the cheeses and salami hanging up looked even better.

If you are a New Yorker, this is the place to go. It's hard to believe you can find some authentic real Italian food outside the tri-state area. We returned the following night and were lucky enough to get a small table right away. Although the waitstaff had to squeeze around our table and the refrigerator cabinet, it was well worth it for us.

Terrific Italian food, great wine, and even better cannoli for desert. I hesitated to write this because it means more people may go - making it even more crowded! Time to open a larger, dedicated restaurant - and expand the salumeria.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taste of Italy also viewed

 

Been to Taste of Italy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taste of Italy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.