We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food great... Service not so good as the food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Azafran - CLOSED

Cafe Azafran
109 W Market St, Lewes, DE 19958-1346
302-644-4446
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Special occasions, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
1 review
“Food great... Service not so good as the food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

The team who work on morning shift 090913...spoiled my expirience, mean team, And charge a dollar if you want for Your toast! So sad! As a custumer everyone deserve good service

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    36
    9
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chadds Ford, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Tapas Delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

With friends we went to Lewes and tried out Cafe Azafran. We had a late seating and ordered salads and 4 small plates. They were cooking paella that night and had some left over which they shared with those arriving late. The paella was delicious as were the other plates. I very much enjoyed their beet salad. Good friends, good food and good wine made a wonderful evening. Check it out when you are at the shore.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millsboro, DE
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Tapas and Music on Thursdays”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Great samplings and wonderful entertainment- a locals favorite worth stopping in an enjoying. The only complaint is that the porch area can be very cold in winter- sit near the bar!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Bistro dining perfect for a summer evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Cafe Azafran has been a regular breakfast stop after biking from Rehoboth to Lewes, but this was our first dinner. We liked sitting outside, in the casual/rustic courtyard on a warm summer night. Service was pleasant and attentive without intruding, the house sangria was all that our waiter had promised, and our meals were tasty and the portions generous. Fresh, fresh seafood and a beautiful salad of local heirloom tomatoes to start. We shared a decadent affogato (sp?) for dessert, coffee and chocolate, and the perfect end to an excellent meal...

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, MD
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Still making some of the best sandwiches around!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Whenever I make it to Lewes I have to get a fix at Cafe Azafran. They make fabulous tasty sandwiches and dangerously good desserts. They also do a great job of making a simple sandwich my daughter will love, which is saying a lot! Great salads and wonderful charcuterie and cheese plate as well. One of my favorite stops anywhere.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Azafran also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Azafran, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.