We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best restaurants in Lewes” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Azafran - CLOSED

Cafe Azafran
109 W Market St, Lewes, DE 19958-1346
302-644-4446
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Dessert
Heidelberg, Germany
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“One of the best restaurants in Lewes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We think Azafran and Agave are your best bets in Lewes. We have eaten at Azafran three times and return each time we visit Lewes. TIP: Ask to sit on outdoor patio and try the Sangria!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    36
    9
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Falls Church, Virginia
1 review
“Maybe we just ordered the wrong thing? Lunch review only”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

In Lewes for vacation last week and read so many good reviews about Azafran that we decided to pick up a few of their sandwiches as our last vacation lunch. I got a sandwich that read really well on the menu - roasted vegetables, mozarella, basil, etc. and my husband got a cup of the turkey chowder soup special and the panini. We were both pretty disappointed, sadly - the sandwiches were OK at best but certainly nothing to get excited about. My husband did say that the specials he saw on display when he picked up our order looked much better than what we ended up with. So I guess I would give this another try if the occasion arose, but would order very carefully based on what they were featuring or what was recommended.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Late Night Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

The food was well prepared and the service was good. The wine menu is different and so are many tapas, but that's why we liked it.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Tapas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

All the tapas selections (and we had most of them) were great, and the portions were quite generous. Nice wine selection and atmosphere. highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, PA
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“GREAT oatmeal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

They have the best baked oatmeal. Actually, every meal that I have had here has been good. I like their outdoor dining space, too.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Azafran also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Azafran, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.