We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a Large Group” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grotto Pizza

Grotto Pizza
17467 Shady Rd, Lewes, DE 19958
(302) 645-4900
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 72 restaurants in Lewes
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Pizza & Pasta
Dining options: Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect for a Large Group”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

My family was in town for our reunion, so we needed a budget-friendly dinner location that could accommodate approximately 30 people, including a lot of children. This Grotto location was perfect! When we were making our reservation, they recommended we purchase the "party pack" which was unlimited cheese and pepperoni pizza and soft drinks for around $8/person. Our group picked this option and we weren't disappointed. They even let us take the leftover pizza home with us.

While we were at the restaurant, our servers were fantastic and didn't seem overwhelmed at all by the large group and the children running around.

The pizza was good (not the best I've ever had), but the service was so great that I would definitely return.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

50% Recommend
    10
    6
    8
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Greasy, White Pizza Divinity!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

My wife had extolled the virtues of the greasy deliciousness of Grotto Pizza for the last 7 years. I believed it would be good, but as the grease dripped down the folded white pizza triangle, I became a believer. Price is a little high, but you're at the shore, and a waffle cone 6 bucks.

Get the defibrillator, your wallet and your lack of self respect, because you'll want to gorge yourself till it hurts at Grotto Pizza.

Loved It!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, Delaware, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“greasiest pizza ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

greasiest pizza! I am not sure why so many people find it good. I have tried it more than once giving it a fair chance but it always the same bad.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franconia, Virginia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Ok if you are passing through.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We've come here the Saturday before the 4th every year for the last ten (and were here for their grand opening in 1990 or so). It's convenient if you are driving down and want to hang out with the kids while you wait for your rental place to open up at 2PM, otherwise probably not worth the trip. Service is fine. Food is ok. Pizza and cheesesteaks are pretty standard beach fare. Nothing memorable or horrible. We mostly stop here because they have a game room and the kids can stretch their legs after the drive and they have space for us to expand out over several tables when we have a larger group.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chestertown, Maryland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“The Beach Means Gotta Go To Grottos”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We live about 2 hours away and have been going to the DE & MD beaches for over 30 years. When we come, that usually means a trip to Grottos. Pizza was good. Service was great and try the fries and ask for Old Bay. Yes, the crab spice is awesome on fries too! This location has a lot of games for the kids too.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grotto Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Grotto Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grotto Pizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.