We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“try the club” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Striper Bites

Striper Bites
107 Savannah Rd, Lewes, DE 19958-1437
302-645-4657
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 73 Restaurants in Lewes
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“try the club”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

Went their for dinner with the kids, one evening while on vacation. About a 45 minute wait on a July Wednesday night but killed time walking around Lewes. I had the Striper Bites Club which was by far the best Mahi Mahi sandwich ever. Kids had an order of mussels and chicken fingers and ate it all. This would make a great place for a date night too. Nice atmosphere and decor.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    70
    22
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent seafood in a fun atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We stayed in Lewes this past week for vacation with family. We ate at Striper Bites twice and each time the food was great. The seafood is fresh and prepared wonderfully. I asked if I could substitute a salad for the fries with one of my meals and there wasn't an upcharge like at some restaurants. Everyone at our table enjoyed their food. I even snagged the last chicken finger that my grandson didn't want; it was tasty as well!

It's located conveniently near the bridge and shops in town. I would definitely recommend it and wouldn't hesitate to dine there again on future visits to Lewes.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great seafood source in Lewes, De”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

Striper Bites is small, but worth a visit. The restaurant is located at the foot of the downtown bridge over the canal. I tried the fried haddock, and found it to be great. The texture of the deep fried serving is very similar to Grouper finger dishes found in south Florida. ( when available)

The restaurant has some outside tables available in addition to inside seating with views of the hectic activity in Lewes during the summer peak season.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Skip the fish tacos”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Great service. Love the decor. Bacon wrapped scallops done right. Just the right amount of crispy on the outside, tender on the inside. Caesar salad was good with special requests honored. But the fish tacos...I so wanted to like this but it left me disappointed. I liked the lightly grilled soft taco but that was the highlight. Fish batter was crispy but insides were mush. The cabbage slaw had no personality or flavor, the "fixins' were tired...plain old sour cream, limp lettuce, bagged shredded cheese and a salsa straight from the jar. For a resort place, it was great. For a dining experience, I'll keep looking.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

Great food This was a neat quaint little bar type restaurant that we wondered into after getting off the Cape-May Lewes Ferry. We had the kids with us so needed a place that had variety. It definitely did for us. Great food with a pretty good selection and variety of foods. Friendly staff good service and very clean. Chicken Caesar salad and Fish tacos were great and the seared tuna was delicious as well. I highly Recommend and will return he next time we are in Lewes Delaware. Family orientated and has a lot of TV with currents sporting events. Also you can sit inside or outside depending on your mood and the weather.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Striper Bites also viewed

 

Been to Striper Bites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Striper Bites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.