We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent food but very pricey!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Buttery

The Buttery
102 2nd St, Lewes, DE 19958-1324
+1 302-645-7755
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 75 Restaurants in Lewes
Cuisines: French, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Lewes, Delaware
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“excellent food but very pricey!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

The food at The Buttery (based on more than 10 visits) is always excellent. The ambiance and service is first rate. Over the last several years the prices have climbed and climbed. The restaurant is to expensive for anything but a special occassion.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capeandisland, Manager at The Buttery, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Joel! Thanks so much for the accolades but your price comments need some clarification. You do know that we use the absolute best possible products available to the industry as well as locally sourced and organic when ever we can. That 'quaility in' is expensive but yeilds the result we aspire to provide. I must also mention that while some items have increased in price there are many examples of price reduction when the market allows us the opportunity.
But Joel, you're missing the other side of The Buttery where we offer lots of value opportunities: Our daily prix-fixe menu offers three courses, same best quality, two different and changing entree choices all for $ 30.00. In addition our Pub menu offers great single plate meals from $ 14. to $ 16. So don't limit your visits to 'special occasions". We'd love to see more of you!
PS, try our Happy Hour every day but Saturday from 4 to 7
- half price drinks and the Five for $5 @ 5 menu Five changing menu items each for only $ 5.00!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    72
    33
    16
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Grand Meal in Grand Victorian Style!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

What a beautiful New Year Eve! The ambiance of the restaurant generated a nostalgic sense of grandeur. The food was exceptional! The New York Strip was like butter. My partner lucked out on having one of the last servings of the duck. The staff was friendly and welcoming. I do not usually write reviews but I simply needed to share my wonderful experience.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Delaware
1 review
“so disappointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Went after a concert, and had reservations. We received drinks and salad/soup in a timely manner. But waited 21/2 hrs for our main course. At the 2 hr mark when everyone around us had eaten and left we were told they were out of the salmon we ordered. The only compensation or apologies were that everyone in the restaurant arrived at the same time. When we received our meal it was less than satisfactory and our compensation was to order any dessert we wanted. Not good business. I have told many, many people about this experience and will tell more. When there is a problem and I know things happen, always offer your customers complimentary drinks or more. We were the last people in the restaurant. We would have left but we were so hungry and no other places in Lewes were open. Never again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capeandisland, Manager at The Buttery, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Dianne, Yes, it was not our best (as I expressed with great contrition on the night in question) But to be fair, you did omit a few details. your party of 8 turned into a party of 7 with two of you arriving ten minutes after your 6pm time and the entire group not at the table until 6:40.(ever wonder why some resturants won't seat two or three of a larger reservation until everyone has arrived? One reason is because the first seated percieve the cadende of service on the time they sat down, not based on the entire group's order time. Your table placed the dinner order at 6:45. The frist course was served at 7:10; the entrees (after correction) at 8:12. Yes, we did run out of the early-bird special salmon but we did offer that your party could order any of the always fresh fish entrees at the early bird price in addtion to any dessert. (cocktals were considered but we thought not such a good idea), And yes, the entire restaurant did fill up al at once making service much more challanging than usual and I woud think that you know why. That evening was set aside as a fund raiser for an organization that you were attending with, following the concert that not only you attended but so did the other 87 guests (who by the way seemed to have had a very good time and many of whom thanked us for helping their organization financially).
I understand and regret your disappointment but I have to admit, publicizing your selective personal injury account brings to mind the adage "no good deed goes unpunished" and we will have to consider carefully weather to continue this particular annual event.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“lovely Linda”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

A group of four of us, without reservations decided to dine at the Buttery the week before Christmas. Not only was the staff kind enough to find us a table at the bar while we waited for the entire party to join, Linda invited us to dine there for the evening. Her drinks and service were impeccable and if we return, we hope to be able to sit at the bar with her again....the food was delicious and on par with the service!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Delaware
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

The Buttery has great atmosphere and wonderful food! Ask for Tom and you will have great service. Had dinner with good friends for the holidays and had a great experience. We live in the area and it is nice to have this restaurant close to us.

Linda

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Buttery also viewed

 

Been to The Buttery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Buttery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.