We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great if you're traveling with a dog” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lazy L at Willow Creek - A Bed and Breakfast Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lewes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lazy L at Willow Creek - A Bed and Breakfast Resort
Save
You added Lazy L at Willow Creek - A Bed and Breakfast Resort to your Saves list
16061 Willow Creek Road, Lewes, DE 19958   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 8 Lewes B&B and Inns
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great if you're traveling with a dog”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

You owe it to yourself and to your dog to spend a night (or more) at Lazy L. The place is on one of those beautiful estuaries in Delaware, off Chesapeake Bay. You can see ospreys swooping down for a fish; song birds abound; the wild river's edge is untouched and beautiful. And the place itself is as perfect as the setting. Finally, the owners are wonderful and obviously love dogs. Breakfast on the porch with our own dog and with two other couples with theirs was everything we could have wished from our stay at Lazy L.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    11
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
22
38
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, Virginia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is the place dogs bring their owners.The good: pretty location on a swampy canal, no dog smell despite everyone having dogs, fun to have your dog join you for breakfast and get a treat while you eat, large fenced-in area for dogs to run free. Upstairs den with tv so your partner can sleep if you want to stay up, etc. The not-so-great: upstairs room that faces the parking lot not nearly as pretty a view as canal side ones plus exterior stairs are steep for a small dog. Beware of ticks on nearby wooded paths. Located on a wooded side road off four lane highway, requires a car drive to actually get into Lewes. Furnishings are okay, slightly worn. 2 night requirement on weekends can be frustrating and $$$. Still your best bet if you bring a dog to the Lewes area.

Room Tip: Choose canal side, not parking lot side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDG
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

As soon as I stepped out of the car, I knew I had come to the right place. Very stressful job, and lack of a vacation for awhile made this just what I needed. The smell of fresh lavender growing out front helps soothe the senses, while the landscape is lovely. Melodic sounds of birds and the friendly greeting gave me the feeling of just landing in a small piece of heaven. If it wasn't for my beautiful Samoyed dog, Anastasia, I would never have found this place. She had a huge, beautiful landscaped yard with a gazebo to play in. She got to run and romp around with two nice greyhounds while we chatted with the owner. The cottage we rented was right there and JoAnne, one of the innkeepers, gave us tips on other amenities they provided and breakfast and checkout times. The place is so clean, I thought I was the first person to ever stay there. I was blessed to find this place just by typing in a search engine, "dog friendly vacation rentals near beaches". My husband took some nice pictures and I took a few of them and made a YouTube slideshow video: http://youtu.be/iJswujfA9rw

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We absolutely loved this B & B. We had a big family gathering so had the entire 2nd floor to ourselves. The kids loved the small heated pool-set in one of the most beautiful yards I have ever seen. Also great because it was away from the noise and traffic of other hotel locations in Lewes. The room views were great--especially the Nature room view. The breakfast was fabulous on the screened porch. Everyone loved that it was dog friendly--the kids loved the visiting dogs. There was a separate cottage room that we did not stay in that also looked nice from the outside. This is one of my favorite B&B's ever.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver SPring
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We have been staying at the Lazy L at Willow Creek for about 4 years now and we have been thrilled every time. The Innkeepers are guest focused, the breakfast is always delicious, the views fantastic, and best of all our pups love the space.
The rooms are clean, and the grounds well kept!
We highly recommend this facility, especially if you are a dog owner or like dogs!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

We just spent the weekend at this great spot in Lewes Delaware. From the warm greeting at the beginning, to the clean room with lovely views over the wetlands and creek, we were so happy with our weekend. Toby the dog had the best time! Highly recommend for people with dogs or who would like to spend lots of time with dogs.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

We loved our stay there. My partner and I stayed over the weekend with our two beagles and from beginning to end the experience was great. The home itself is great - we stayed in one of the bedrooms on the second floor (there are three there separated by a small den area) and in the little kitchen upstairs there was a nice-sized fridge that even had ice cream for the guests. The owners were terrific - one of them greeted us as we pulled up with the beagles after a long drive and showed us the sizeable (and well-landscaped) dog run which of course the dogs needed and loved right away. Breakfast was delicious and impressive: two courses both mornings, first one starting with a hot muffin and fruit, then a quiche or waffles. They even had gluten-free muffins and waffles for partner. The owners' attention to detail was wonderful, from the separate towels for the hot tub, pool, bathrooms, as well as for the doggies, to the pamphlet of dog-friendly places in Lewes and dog-friendly beaches upon check-in. A superb experience overall and worth every penny for any person that wants to stay at the beach with there dogs.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lazy L at Willow Creek - A Bed and Breakfast Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazy L at Willow Creek - A Bed and Breakfast Resort

Address: 16061 Willow Creek Road, Lewes, DE 19958
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Lewes
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Lewes
Number of rooms: 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lazy L at Willow Creek - A Bed and Breakfast Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.