We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needed time away...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Blue

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Blue to your Saves list
Hotel Blue
110 Anglers Rd., Lewes, DE 19958   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Lewes
Wilmington, Delaware
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Needed time away...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

I was there in early November 2013 and just realized I never posted how much of a nice relaxing time. The weather was just perfect but the hotel service was great….they even let me stay a little extra. There are special personal memories for staying there and they were surely fulfilled. I am looking on coming back soon…maybe even before this next big snow!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    79
    13
    6
    8
See reviews for
16
284
18
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
usa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

We visited the Hotel Blue with another couple to celebrate a birthday in early February. It was a wonderful, relaxing getaway, even in the midst of a cold winter. The staff couldn't have been more helpful. Rooms have a cozy fireplace and generous living area. Views of the harbor from the 3rd floor were most enjoyable, especially at sunset. As others have mentioned, the décor is tasteful, modern and inviting. The beds are super comfortable. The complimentary coffee in the lobby is delicious and fresh fruit is also available in the morning. If you appreciate a well-appointed bathroom, you won't be disappointed. We enjoyed walking to shops, restaurants and museums. Historic museums offer free admission until March. We had delicious meals at the Touch of Italy and Blue Sea café. We highly recommend Hotel Blue and look forward to visiting again.

Room Tip: Rooms 300 and 304 have lovely views of the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manheim, Pennsylvania, United States
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

For our 35th wedding anniversary, we decided to make a trip to Lewes, DE. We found Hotel Blue through Trip Advisor. It was wonderful! We stayed in the 1 bedroom deluxe suite. This hotel was way beyond any other hotel we have stayed in. I was amazed by the size of this suite. It was like renting your own condo. Every little detail was taken care of from the coffee and fresh fruit available in the lobby to the cleanliness of the suite. Because it was our anniversary we also found a bottle of champagne and 2 glasses awaiting our arrival. Every room has its own fireplace. I should also mention that we ended up there during a horrendous blizzard. Since this is the off season, there was not a 24 hour desk in the lobby and the gentleman on duty expressed some worry about us staying. At that time it was too late to head out since the storm was already in full force at home. We were given the private cell number of the man who was manning the desk, extra coffee for our in room coffee pot. We had gone to the store and bought food so that we would not have to leave once the storm hit. When we returned to our room, we found plates and silverware there for our use. I can not say enough good things about this hotel. We will definitely be staying there again. Actually can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: The views from the back of the hotel aren't much of anything. I would pick a room with a view o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We enjoyed a pleasant escape to Lewes for the holiday weekend, and Hotel Blue provided the perfect accommodations. Hotel Blue is ideally located, the staff is friendly and knowledgeable, the rates are unbeatable, and the rooms are clean, modern, comfortable, and well decorated. We can't wait to visit Lewes again and stay at Hotel Blue!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennett Square, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

My wife and I have stayed at Hotel Blue several times now. Each time in a different room. Everything about the hotel is exceptional.
The location, quite with great views of the inlet. Rooms are spacious and clean. Super large bathrooms.
The staff does leave in the evening but that has never caused a problem.
We always look forward to our next stay at "The Blue".

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Hotel Blue in Lewes Delaware is a hidden gem. Often I find hotels at the beach to be damp, dirty, or not well taken care of. Hotel Blue is a wonderful Hotel. The rooms are modern, clean, well maintained and very comfortable to sleep in. The location of the hotel is one block from the main restaurant, tourist area, which is good because it is quieter.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Maryland, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Looking for a quiet place to escape for New Year's, my daughter and I decided to try Lewes, DE, a lovely village near Rehoboth and about 90 minutes from our home. The Hotel Blue had very reasonably priced rooms and suites available, so we jumped at the chance to stay there. The Hotel is exactly as pictured on its website: modern, trendy, intimate and with small touches that seem almost magical. Among these are the blue lights beneath the glass sinks in the bathroom and an ice bucket that glows in the dark and changes color. Our suite was large, the bed was divine, and the fireplace, which could be seen from both the bedroom and the seating area, was a lovely touch on a cold night. The bathrobes are so luxurious that they sport tags saying that you can either buy one at the desk or take one from the room and have the cost added to your bill, which is just what I did! Before going out to dinner on New Year's Eve, we found a tray with a small bottle of champagne, New Year's Eve hats, noise-makers and party beads outside our door. The staff also left a goody bag with breakfast pastries after we returned from dinner. The hotel is for adults only and one is basically left alone after checking in. Your room key will also open the main door to the hotel when the desk isn't staffed.This makes it similar to many B&B's, but without the interaction or small talk with owners or other guests. For me, this is a plus. However, if you love that sort of interaction, this is probably not the best choice for you. The Hotel Blue is a wonderful addition to the charming shops and restaurants of this quaint little town, and I would definitely stay here again - hopefully in warmer weather when I could enjoy the attractive roof-top pool with its view of the water.

Room Tip: All of the rooms look exactly as they do on the website so choose the one that appeals to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blue

Address: 110 Anglers Rd., Lewes, DE 19958
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Lewes
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Lewes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a private and luxurious atmosphere in the historic first town of Lewes, Delaware. Enjoy a relaxed stay in this modern hotel that is less than a half mile walk from the beach. Escape the heavy traffic of Rehoboth, Dewey, and Bethany beaches at this upscale canal front hotel. The rooftop pool with a beautiful panoramic view of Lewes Beach is characteristic to this boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Hotel Blue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Blue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.