We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy, bad housekeeping.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn & Suites Rehoboth Beach Area

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sleep Inn & Suites Rehoboth Beach Area to your Saves list
Sleep Inn & Suites Rehoboth Beach Area
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18451 Coastal Highway, Lewes, DE 19958   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Lewes
Newark, DE
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Noisy, bad housekeeping.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2009

The hotel was decorated nicely and it was a convenient location, Staff was helpful and polite. The continental breakfest was decent. However, when we arrived for our two night stay, there was hair in the shower, and housekeeping did not clean the shower the next morning. Also, they did not clean in general the next morning nor did they give us new towels when they took our old ones. The bed was not made properly and I wound up adjusting the bedskirt so it would look nice for us. Also, there was a light switch by the door that did not seem to be attached to anything or turn anything on. The couple next door was not loud, but due to poor insulation, we could hear the couple next door talking and engaging in intimate relations. The front desk gave us $20 off our stay to compensate but that did not make up for a lack of service.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    55
    36
    15
    13
See reviews for
82
51
8
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
PA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2009

This is a GREAT place to stay in Lewes! The renovations are perfect! Continental breakfast is really good. They have eggs, toast, bagels, and muffins. The room was fantastic, along with how the maids had cleaned!!! The pool was heated WONDERFULLY!!! And the location of the hotel is near the Cape May-Lewes Ferry, Cape Henlopen State Park, Rehoboth Beach, and many other beaches. The tax-free Tanger Outlets is another great place to shop! I would definitely recommend this hotel to ANYONE!

  • Stayed July 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sleepinnlewes, Owner at Sleep Inn & Suites Rehoboth Beach Area, responded to this review, September 3, 2009
We are very pleased that you loved our renovations! We look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2009

When we showed up in the early evening of the night we were staying, we were told we had two separate reservations, not just one like we were supposed to have. They claimed the second was a phone reservation I had made directly to the hotel a couple of days earler. That is a complete fabrication. We make all of our reservations online, and I never call the hotel directly. They would not allow us to just cancel this incorrect second reservation because it was past their cancellation period.

We wasted more than an hour on the phone with various parties and ended up paying more than we should have. Bottom line is that you cannot trust the management of this hotel. There are lots of other choices in the area - use them instead. If you do stay here, better check with the hotel ahead of time to make sure they didn't give you a phantom second reservation like they did with us.

Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2009

I booked this hotel after seeing a stay two nights get one free online advertisement. When I called the hotel they acted as if they needed to call headquarters to revify the information. Upon checkin I asked for a quote and was given the promotion price only to be given a different price upon checkout. The manager refused to honor the promotion and stated that the advertisement and employee were wrong. Hard to believe since the computer in the lobby also had the advertisement clearly marked on the website.

The staff was corteous but such unfair business dealibg would make me look into another facility. To think that this place is considered a choice hotel. Go Figure.

Also the fitness room is really one three pieces of equipment all of which are outdated.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, MD
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2009

We booked 2 rooms for a long weekend and had a great time. The hotel staff was friendly, accomodating and the rooms were nice, up to date, nice decor, very clean, working A/C units! This hotel is close to alot of things - beaches (Rehoboth about 10 minutes, Ocean City an hour or less, plenty of place to eat from fast food to anything else. We ate at Claws one night (Rehoboth) and got a pound and a half lobster special for 17.99 with sides etc! Fun place to eat! We often stay in Ocean City so I was happy to get away from the crowds and stay in Lewes, we drove around and viewed beautiful beach front properties, went around historic Lewes, many ships, boats, history to explore. A "MUST DO" is a delightful ice cream shop at a local dairy farm - incredible ice cream made fresh there. (Hopkins Farm) My friends at there 4 times in as many days!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sleepinnlewes, Owner at Sleep Inn & Suites Rehoboth Beach Area, responded to this review, September 3, 2009
We are happy that you love the promotion and the friendly staff. We are here to make your stay as comfortable as possible. We look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Burnie, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2009

While I have never stayed at this hotel, and will never, ever stay or encourage others to stay, or plan any group events there, I wanted to post this review to warn fellow travelers of their deceptive and unethical reservation and cancellation policies.

I chose this hotel because it had the only pet rooms available at the last minute for Memorial Day 2009. I made a reservation online, but also called the hotel to make sure that the room I booked was indeed a pet room (you can't always believe websites). Mainly, I didn't want to drive 3 hours to find out I had no pet room, with no other place to stay with our dogs. I was told that there was only one pet room left, and if I gave my information to the clerk, she would make sure that I got it when I checked in. She asked me for my name, credit card, etc., and told me that she is going to pre-assign (or something to that effect) that room so that nobody else takes it. I explained to her that I made a reservation online - and even gave her the confirmation number.

As it turns out, we didn't bring the dogs and I decided on a more upscale hotel, closer to the beach (see fantastic review of Hotel Rehoboth). I went online and I cancelled my reservation within the allowed time period, and received a cancellation number by email.

When I got home from my trip I noticed a one-night charge from Sleep Inn. When I called and spoke to the manager, she claimed that I not only made a reservation online, but also with their front desk. And because I did not call to cancel the reservation made by phone (the alleged second reservation), they considered it a no-show.

I explained to the general manager that I did not make two reservations for the same date, and asked her to be reasonable about the charge. She stuck to her guns and said that her front desk clerk warned me I was making a reservation, and there would be a charge if I did not show up (as if she was listening on the phone). And while the desk clerk did review their cancellation policy, at no time did she inform me she was making a second reservation. I tried multiple times to reason with this person, but she was bullying me in a threatening tone that my card was already charged and as far as she was concerned, the matter was closed.

Unfortunately, I will have to go through the credit card company to get a refund, which means paperwork and delays. But it will happen. And the property will make whatever claim they can to lay blame on me, either in this forum or with the credit card company. I fully expect that.

To lend credibility to my background, I have been a meeting and event planner for 26 years. I have traveled over 3 million miles and have booked hundreds of thousands of hotel rooms over my career. Folks, it is a tough economy. There are underhanded entrepreneurs who run 'less than desirable' properties looking for quick and sometimes unfair ways to make a few bucks to hit their numbers. Even experienced travelers can be duped by liars.

Be very careful when you choose your hotel. Check the fine print, the cancellation policy and keep documentation long after your trip is over. Please don’t stay at this property. Happy Traveling.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clover, SC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2009

This is a 4 floor hotel with the first & second floors currently under renovation. The put us in the newly-renovated third floor but right next to the room that was serving as the temporary breakfast area so it was a bit noisy the next morning (The only other rooms available were on the 4ht floor which is the smoking floor).
Other than that the room was exactly what you would expect from a Sleep Inn. The location was very convenient to Lewes and Rehoboth Beach.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sleepinnlewes, Owner at Sleep Inn & Suites Rehoboth Beach Area, responded to this review, September 3, 2009
We are sorry about the renovations, but it is to make the hotel much nicer for all guests. We are happy that you liked how convenient we are to the beaches. Thank you for staying with us and our goal is to make your stay comfortable and relaxing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sleep Inn & Suites Rehoboth Beach Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn & Suites Rehoboth Beach Area

Address: 18451 Coastal Highway, Lewes, DE 19958
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Lewes
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Lewes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn & Suites Rehoboth Beach Area 2*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sleep Inn & Suites® Rehoboth Beach Area is centrally located in the heart of a variety of Delaware beach attractions, including historic downtown Lewes, Rehoboth Beach, Dewey Beach and Bethany Beach. Several restaurants, amusements, and retail shops are located within walking distance.Best of all, the Sleep Inn is just 1 mile from 140 tax-free shops in the Tanger Outlets. Hotel features and amenities include:Free Morning Medley Hot Breakfast and free coffee, Free local calls, Free high-speed Internet access, WIFI Lobby with Workstations, Family Home Theater where you can rent movies, Basketball, Outdoor heated pool and splash pool with water activities! Offering a variety of room types to suite our guests needs such as standard king, double, suites with sofa bed, two room king suites and sweetheart suites with jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Sleep Inn & Suites Rehoboth Beach Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn And Suites Rehoboth Beach Area
Sleep Inn & Suites Rehoboth Beach Area Hotel Lewes
Sleep Inn Lewes
Lewes Sleep Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleep Inn & Suites Rehoboth Beach Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.