We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great sandwiches on fabulous bread!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Touch of Italy

Touch of Italy
101 2nd Street, Lewes, DE 19958
+1 302-703-3090
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 79 Restaurants in Lewes
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $9 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza & Pasta, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night
Description: Touch of Italy was born out of two Italian family traditions that trace back to the late 1800's. These two families trace their roots to the beautiful Marche and Abruzzo regions in Central Italy, where one can find rich cultural traditions and recipes passed down from generation to generation. Touch of Italy first opened in the fall of 2010 in Lewes, Delaware and proudly runs five locations in Ocean City, Lewes and Rehoboth Beach, serving fresh items like handmade mozzarella cheese, pasta, pizza, cookies and crispy bread, as well as high quality imported items from Italy. Touch of Italy is proud to bring the Italian tradition to costal Delaware and Maryland, and pay tribute to our ancestors, who imparted to us a love of food and family.
Pinckney, Michigan, United States
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Great sandwiches on fabulous bread!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Yup....the real thing! We ordered four different sandwiches for takeout and broccoli rabe salad as a side. The sandwiches were awesome. Eggplant parmigiana, porketta, eggplant and artichoke, and proscuitto with fontina and anchovies, all on very authentic italian bread. The salad was a bit heavy on the garlic would be the only criticism. The moment you walk in the door wonderful smells are permeating the air. Lovely salads line the case to make it very difficult to chose what to take home. The bakery items looked delish but we had to pass this time around.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    73
    16
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Delightful Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We were staying in a hotel and had ordered food from a local pizza place. The food never arrived. Despite calling them back, the food never did come. In the end we went out walking looking for a place to eat. Not far from our hotel, the Holiday Inn Express, we came across the Touch of Italy. . Although there was a mix-up in the order, and although we had to wait a long time, we were indeed pleased. The food was substantial and quite tasty. I'd double check on your order to make sure what they provide is what you ordered.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, MD
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very Good Italian Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We dine at Touch of Italy twice a month. The service is always excellent. Pizza & pasta dishes are very good. Nice atmosphere, not too fancy. Best Italian food in Lewes. My only hesitation is they close at 9pm on weekdays, 10pm would be better.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Italian Perfection in Lewes!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We discovered ToI by accident while biking in the fall of 2012 and have not stop going since. Perfect lunch after biking the Rehoboth-Lewes trails. Great wine, delicious food and AWESOME service that makes you feel at home or at a cozy restaurant in Rome.

Buon Appetito!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas, Pennsylvania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Combo Deli, Bakery, & Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

A corner Italian Deli and Bakery that turned out to have the best fettuccine Alfredo and thin crust pizza w/mozzarella and Italian sausage. My wife loves Alfredo sauce that is not too garlicky and home made pasta and that's exactly what she got. My pizza had a pesto sauce with big spheres of home-made mozzarella and Italian sausage that was not to spicy. And of course my wife and I both had eclairs with Ann assortment of Italian cookies to take back to the hotel. If your in Lewes, don't miss it. Don't get fooled by looking inside from the sidewalk trying to find the tables and chairs. After 5 or 6 steps inside the store you'll see them plus a bar for drinks or wine!!!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Touch of Italy also viewed

 

Been to Touch of Italy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Touch of Italy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.