We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Touch of Italy

Touch of Italy
101 2nd Street, Lewes, DE 19958
+1 302-703-3090
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 80 Restaurants in Lewes
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Sandwiches, Pizza & Pasta, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Coffee & Tea, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night
Description: Touch of Italy was born out of two Italian family traditions that trace back to the late 1800's. These two families trace their roots to the beautiful Marche and Abruzzo regions in Central Italy, where one can find rich cultural traditions and recipes passed down from generation to generation. Touch of Italy first opened in the fall of 2010 in Lewes, Delaware and proudly runs five locations in Ocean City, Lewes and Rehoboth Beach, serving fresh items like handmade mozzarella cheese, pasta, pizza, cookies and crispy bread, as well as high quality imported items from Italy. Touch of Italy is proud to bring the Italian tradition to costal Delaware and Maryland, and pay tribute to our ancestors, who imparted to us a love of food and family.
Clayton, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Authentic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

We really loved this place. Food was great, atmosphere was relaxing, husband saidg he could imagine people playing cards Iin a back room somewhere

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    74
    16
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kennett Square, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“The Garlic Delivery That Never Came”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

The smells and ambiance of Taste of Italy makes you anticipate a tasty, wonderful meal. Unfortunately, although there is a wonderful wait staff, the food is bland, stale and unimaginative. Having never been there before we thought we would taste a sampling and ordered three appetizers and a salad. The Caesar Salad was beautiful and tasteless - no garlic, no lemon, no seasonings at all. Although the Gnocchi were light and airy pillows, they were undercooked and the 4-cheese sauce was as bland as Kraft Mac-n-Cheese. The Meat Marinara Sauce is very tasty but ladled over mealy, tasteless meatballs. We had anticipated that the spinach ravioli would be stuffed with a cheese/ spinach mixture. Instead it was presented as cheese ravioli draped with sauteed spinach. The spinach was very good - best part of the meal. The biggest disappointment was the bread - a beautiful presentation just waiting to be dipped in the excess marinara - but the bread was stale - at least a day or two old - making what could be a savory finish just dull. Well, we thought, lets save the meal with an Espresso. Plunked on the table was a cup of tepid Espresso. With a wave to the little box of Domino Sugar packets on the table, the waitress said, "There's your sugar"...no little lemon peel curl...no cube of sugar to slowly dissolve in the hot Espresso...no meal saving cup. Expensive and not worth it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royersford, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great Lil touch of Italy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We took the ferry over from Cape May to explore Lewes DE. What a fantastic find! Quaint lil restaurant an the end of Second street. We only ordered a plain cheese pizza BUT it was the closes to Rome Italy I have tested! Fresh mozzarella, basil, EVO! delicious! The Pinot Grigio was good too! The pastries and especially the Sfogliatelle was to die for.
I'd take the ferry over just to eat there!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware, United States
1 review
“Downtown Lewes Touch of Italy - incredible”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We have been to the downtown Lewes Touch of Italy several times. Each time has been great. It does take a while to get your order, but I've found the customer service at this location to be friendly and helpful. Their cheeses and deli meats are far superior to any other in downstate Delaware. That being said, we decided to try the new location on Route 1. Without a doubt, I will not return. The host was arrogant and obviously not skilled in handling the demands of a restaurant filled with diners. (This is where we should have left.) Instead of simply telling us that the wait for a table might be 10, 15 or even 30 minutes so we could decide if we should go elsewhere, he said he didn't know. After waiting 30 minutes he told us he could seat us, but he didn't want to over tax his waitstaff because they had several other tables. Seriously? There were TWO of us. So basically, if he sat us, we couldn't get waited on right away. Okay. We sat. The server came over fairly quickly and was very personable. We ordered drinks. They didn't have the single malt scotch we wanted, so we ordered a bottle of wine. They didn't have the wine we ordered, so we made another selection. We ordered the special appetizer which was a plate of calamari. We got a plate of bread and our wine. At this point, we have been here about 1.5 hours. We have not gotten our appetizer yet. Let alone our dinner. Appetizer comes after letting server know it had not arrived. It was only okay, nothing special. I ordered the Pizza Focaccia. The menu compares this item to the Focaccia Robiola served at Da Ciro in NYC. It is not even close. The "flatbread" was more like two soggy waffles, which tells me it sat for a long time before making it to the table. My companion ordered a pasta dish that was tasty. However, this was a three hour dinner that was not worth the money we spent. I do not recommend you waste your time with this location. Maybe it is because they opened recently, maybe it is because their other locations are smaller and therefore easier to accommodate - I don't know. The mood was probably colored by the attitude of the host who, as we were leaving, was walking around with a fistful of cash instead of thanking the diners for coming in. I feel sorry for our server who was frustrated with the kitchen and the obviously inexperienced management.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Bravo! 4 visits in 3 weeks!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

So delicious!! Feels like I am back on Arthur Avenue in The Bronx, but I'm at the beach!! Authentic Italian cheeses, charceuterie, pastries, and pasta...was even able to buy handmade sausage and ravioli from Borgatti's Raviol to prepare at homei. The lunch sandwiches are delicious as is the pizza and for dinner some of the pasta dishes are wonderful...also, try the Olive Bread with Ricotta or a Calzone...Eggplant Tower...Linguine w. clamsauce...great friendly staff makes you feel at home...and the music is the real deal...Sinatra, Martin, Caruso...feels like Grandma's

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Touch of Italy also viewed

 

Been to Touch of Italy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Touch of Italy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.