We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Touch of Italy

Touch of Italy
101 2nd St., Lewes, DE 19958
302-827-2730
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 72 restaurants in Lewes
Price range: $9 - $20
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Italian, Pizza & Pasta
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night
Ellicott City, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A true restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Many restaurants in touristic locations feel engineered only to cater to tourists, but this was a spot where you can feel that the food is front and center in importance. At the entrance, you first see the Little Italy style deli counter filled with olives, salads, and desserts, with cured meats like sopressata hanging from racks above it. Across from the deli counter is a crush of little tables. It was pretty loud in there with all the tables filled, and it seemed a little weird to have tables mixed in with Italian items for sale, rather chaotic. The thin crusted pizza was excellent, however, and made up for lack of decor. We had the sausage with broccoli rabe and smoked mozzarella and the flavros were a fantastic combination.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    139
    49
    7
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
baltimore
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“The BEST sandwiches EVER”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We went here for lunch almost everyday. You can eat the sandwich over 2 meals and they are just so freaking good. No where to sit and eat inside but you can find a bench outside. Their meats and cheeses are awesome and we also tried their desserts. You should definitely check this place out, soo much better than the crap sandwiches you find on the boardwalk.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Authentic and excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

The town of Lewes finally has an authentic restaurant which is consistently great. The arugula pizza was awesome and the little Italy feel a pleasant atmosphere. All of the dishes being served around us looked amazing. We enjoyed the prosciutto, artichoke, and mushroom pizza and the arugula and prosciutto pizza.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Touch of Confusion”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We have been here numerous times in recent years. Strengths are the excellent quality deli meats, cheeses & desserts. When you want to splurge on prosciutto or fresh mozzarella, this is the place. Challenges: service. We wanted fresh cheese for a caprese salad I was making at home for a 4th of July picnic. Entered the store & took a number before realizing they weren't calling numbers. Stood in line at least 15-20 minutes before being waited on, though a woman did ask if we were dining in. There were several employees behind the counter, so I wasn't sure why it took so long! Two employees had an "issue" with each other behind the counter & a third tried to intervene. A man who was waiting when we entered finally interrupted & said he had been waiting over 15 minutes & could they check on his to-go sandwich. It was made & wrapped, just sitting on a counter! We won't blame the annoying customers in front of us in line on the store, but it all added up to a negative experience. Will have to look elsewhere when I need my "Italian food fix."

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Brick Oven Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Simply amazing food. Pizza is made to perfection in their wood over. Take outs are to the way to go if you don't want to sit in the small confines of the restaurant. Parking may be a challenge since Lewes is getting busy. They also have a sandwich menu and a whole host of other foods you may purchase their. Truly Italian.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Touch of Italy also viewed

 

Been to Touch of Italy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Touch of Italy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.