We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Touch of Confusion” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Touch of Italy

Touch of Italy
101 2nd Street, Lewes, DE 19958
302.703.3090
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 74 Restaurants in Lewes
Price range: $9 - $20
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Italian, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night
Description: Touch of Italy was born out of two Italian family traditions that trace back to the late 1800's. These two families trace their roots to the beautiful Marche and Abruzzo regions in Central Italy, where one can find rich cultural traditions and recipes passed down from generation to generation. Touch of Italy first opened in the fall of 2010 in Lewes, Delaware and proudly runs five locations in Ocean City, Lewes and Rehoboth Beach, serving fresh items like handmade mozzarella cheese, pasta, pizza, cookies and crispy bread, as well as high quality imported items from Italy. Touch of Italy is proud to bring the Italian tradition to costal Delaware and Maryland, and pay tribute to our ancestors, who imparted to us a love of food and family.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Touch of Confusion”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We have been here numerous times in recent years. Strengths are the excellent quality deli meats, cheeses & desserts. When you want to splurge on prosciutto or fresh mozzarella, this is the place. Challenges: service. We wanted fresh cheese for a caprese salad I was making at home for a 4th of July picnic. Entered the store & took a number before realizing they weren't calling numbers. Stood in line at least 15-20 minutes before being waited on, though a woman did ask if we were dining in. There were several employees behind the counter, so I wasn't sure why it took so long! Two employees had an "issue" with each other behind the counter & a third tried to intervene. A man who was waiting when we entered finally interrupted & said he had been waiting over 15 minutes & could they check on his to-go sandwich. It was made & wrapped, just sitting on a counter! We won't blame the annoying customers in front of us in line on the store, but it all added up to a negative experience. Will have to look elsewhere when I need my "Italian food fix."

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    56
    12
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newark, Delaware
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Brick Oven Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Simply amazing food. Pizza is made to perfection in their wood over. Take outs are to the way to go if you don't want to sit in the small confines of the restaurant. Parking may be a challenge since Lewes is getting busy. They also have a sandwich menu and a whole host of other foods you may purchase their. Truly Italian.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“eccellente primo!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stopped here for a late lunch after the ferry ride and could not be more pleased! We were warmly welcomed and the staff was all very attentive and helpful, knowing the menu well. The style looks like a corner deli and it does have HUGE, beautiful sandwiches and beautiful pizzas but we chose a caesar with their homemade croutons and plenty of shaved parmagiano reggiano and a light, superb dressing. Loving really good marinara AND noticing the cans of San Marzano tomatoes abounding as decor and for sale, we chose a simple spaghetti with their fresh pasta--supremo! and their quattro formaggi gnocchi --the best we've ever had. The servings are not too large but are filling and with a little warm bread drizzled with olive oil and some shavings of parm, we were full. The bakery case had some lovely desserts --traditional ones and some unusual. We chose an almond baci with pignolas dotting the surface. Oh MY! We had to take some home! Chewy on the inside with a slight crisp crust and the richness of a high quality almond paste.

This is a place not to be missed...not fancy, but very, very good!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Another delicious lunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We called ahead and ordered sandwiched and salads to eat on the beach (a short walk). Perfect for a picnic on the beach!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hockessin, Delaware
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Good food ..... Good people!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

First time at Touch of Italy. We were able to get right in even though it was busy and on Memorial Day weekend. It reminded me of an Italian restaraunt in New York. Food was good and the staff was very friendly. Felt like family there. We will definitely go back. Thanks for the drinks!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Touch of Italy also viewed

 

Been to Touch of Italy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Touch of Italy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.