We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brick Oven Heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Touch of Italy

Touch of Italy
101 2nd Street, Lewes, DE 19958
+1 302-703-3090
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 85 Restaurants in Lewes
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Touch of Italy was born out of two Italian family traditions that trace back to the late 1800's. These two families trace their roots to the beautiful Marche and Abruzzo regions in Central Italy, where one can find rich cultural traditions and recipes passed down from generation to generation. Touch of Italy first opened in the fall of 2010 in Lewes, Delaware and proudly runs five locations in Ocean City, Lewes and Rehoboth Beach, serving fresh items like handmade mozzarella cheese, pasta, pizza, cookies and crispy bread, as well as high quality imported items from Italy. Touch of Italy is proud to bring the Italian tradition to costal Delaware and Maryland, and pay tribute to our ancestors, who imparted to us a love of food and family.
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Brick Oven Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Simply amazing food. Pizza is made to perfection in their wood over. Take outs are to the way to go if you don't want to sit in the small confines of the restaurant. Parking may be a challenge since Lewes is getting busy. They also have a sandwich menu and a whole host of other foods you may purchase their. Truly Italian.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
155 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“eccellente primo!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stopped here for a late lunch after the ferry ride and could not be more pleased! We were warmly welcomed and the staff was all very attentive and helpful, knowing the menu well. The style looks like a corner deli and it does have HUGE, beautiful sandwiches and beautiful pizzas but we chose a caesar with their homemade croutons and plenty of shaved parmagiano reggiano and a light, superb dressing. Loving really good marinara AND noticing the cans of San Marzano tomatoes abounding as decor and for sale, we chose a simple spaghetti with their fresh pasta--supremo! and their quattro formaggi gnocchi --the best we've ever had. The servings are not too large but are filling and with a little warm bread drizzled with olive oil and some shavings of parm, we were full. The bakery case had some lovely desserts --traditional ones and some unusual. We chose an almond baci with pignolas dotting the surface. Oh MY! We had to take some home! Chewy on the inside with a slight crisp crust and the richness of a high quality almond paste.

This is a place not to be missed...not fancy, but very, very good!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank zoe1mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Another delicious lunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We called ahead and ordered sandwiched and salads to eat on the beach (a short walk). Perfect for a picnic on the beach!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Erica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hockessin, Delaware
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Good food ..... Good people!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

First time at Touch of Italy. We were able to get right in even though it was busy and on Memorial Day weekend. It reminded me of an Italian restaraunt in New York. Food was good and the staff was very friendly. Felt like family there. We will definitely go back. Thanks for the drinks!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Maryann04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A great place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We have been coming here for the past couple of years. It is a "must stop" when you visit Lewes, Delaware. The staff is very friendly both behind the counter and in the restaurant. The food is delicious. We love their homemade soups, pizza and dishes. We always bring home a container of their homemade red sauce as well. Sandwiches are large and their pastry assortment is delightful.
Like I said, it's a must stop in Lewes, if you enjoy Italian food and hospitality.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jimc107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Touch of Italy also viewed

 

Been to Touch of Italy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing