We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great sandwiches” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Touch of Italy

Touch of Italy
101 2nd Street, Lewes, DE 19958
302.703.3090
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 74 Restaurants in Lewes
Price range: $9 - $20
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Italian, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night
Description: Touch of Italy was born out of two Italian family traditions that trace back to the late 1800's. These two families trace their roots to the beautiful Marche and Abruzzo regions in Central Italy, where one can find rich cultural traditions and recipes passed down from generation to generation. Touch of Italy first opened in the fall of 2010 in Lewes, Delaware and proudly runs five locations in Ocean City, Lewes and Rehoboth Beach, serving fresh items like handmade mozzarella cheese, pasta, pizza, cookies and crispy bread, as well as high quality imported items from Italy. Touch of Italy is proud to bring the Italian tradition to costal Delaware and Maryland, and pay tribute to our ancestors, who imparted to us a love of food and family.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great sandwiches”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Great Italian deli with nice sandwich selection and pretty substantial Italian market. There is a host to seat you to a table when you arrive during a busy weekend lunch. I was glad to sit at the front window right next to the deli and still be able to people-watch outside.

Only once we sat down did I realize I was sitting next to a piece of twisted metal from the World Trade Center that was so close it was basically a table centerpiece. As a NYer with personal experience from the disaster, it felt disrespectful to be eating right next to it and I tried to move my plate away as far as I could from it.

But I admit, we were hungry, the sandwiches were really great and I tried not to think about it too much. I would definitely recommend this place but next time, and this is just my take, I would sit in one of the back tables or get it to go.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    56
    12
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Excellent food in a quaint evironment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

This restaurant proves that you cannot "tell a book by its cover." Located in a house with a very small eating area and bar, this place serves up excellent Italian fare and offers deli items. We were there on a week night, so there were only a few people using the place, but I would guess that weekends and holidays would be packed. If you are in Lewes, this is a must see place to eat. We will be back, whenever we are in the area.

Service was prompt and very helpful; the olive bread is the best; all our entrees were excellent.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very, Very Good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I've eaten at the 2nd Street location several times for lunch since this place opened. Wonderful Caprese salads (tell them light on salt & pepper if you prefer little or none). Pizza is awesome and the sandwiches are amazing. The sandwiches are large so plan on sharing. Cappuccinos are good but can take some time because they only have one machine. Service has always been great.

Probably important to note that it is not a great sit-down restaurant for families with little ones because the seating is tight and the menu is limited for young children (meaning no special kids menu).

Also,this place is relatively small and busy...very busy. Especially during the weekends. At times the wait can easily exceed an hour for a table at lunch, however you can wander around town and they will call you when your table is ready.

The prices remind me I'm in Lewes, but the atmosphere reminds me of the small, busy shops throughout Italy. Highly recommended!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lititz, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Memorial Day Weekend Delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My family stopped in on Saturday evening of Memorial Day Weekend - fortunately we arrived early, as the holiday crowd was in full force. Service was prompt despite being very busy. Started off with Olive Bread and Antipasto di Casa which were delicious. They have the best pizza in the area, so my son selected his favorite. Wife enjoyed her Pollo Taleggio and my Pesce Fra’ diavola (shrimp, clams, mussels in a spicy marinara with tossed taglioni was fantastic. Highly recommend this place and old downtown Lewes is a quant shopping experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Amore”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Stopped at Touch of Italy Saturday evening for a bite to eat and sat outside. It was lightly raining but the air was warm and thanks to the large umbrella, we enjoyed out meal without getting wet. We had an antipasta and shared an yummy pizza with fresh mozzarella and basil.The service was excellent and the place was packed with happy people enjoying the large variety of items on the menu. Don't miss this great spot!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Touch of Italy also viewed

 

Been to Touch of Italy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Touch of Italy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.