We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amore” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Touch of Italy

Touch of Italy
101 2nd Street, Lewes, DE 19958
302.703.3090
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 75 Restaurants in Lewes
Price range: $9 - $20
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Italian, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night
Description: Touch of Italy was born out of two Italian family traditions that trace back to the late 1800's. These two families trace their roots to the beautiful Marche and Abruzzo regions in Central Italy, where one can find rich cultural traditions and recipes passed down from generation to generation. Touch of Italy first opened in the fall of 2010 in Lewes, Delaware and proudly runs five locations in Ocean City, Lewes and Rehoboth Beach, serving fresh items like handmade mozzarella cheese, pasta, pizza, cookies and crispy bread, as well as high quality imported items from Italy. Touch of Italy is proud to bring the Italian tradition to costal Delaware and Maryland, and pay tribute to our ancestors, who imparted to us a love of food and family.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Amore”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Stopped at Touch of Italy Saturday evening for a bite to eat and sat outside. It was lightly raining but the air was warm and thanks to the large umbrella, we enjoyed out meal without getting wet. We had an antipasta and shared an yummy pizza with fresh mozzarella and basil.The service was excellent and the place was packed with happy people enjoying the large variety of items on the menu. Don't miss this great spot!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    61
    14
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stopped in because my sister in law highly recommended it. We had glasses of wine at the bar and a delicious brick oven pizza on Friday night. We stopped by for a Cappuccino on Sunday and they were having problems with their POS equipment - so he gave us a Cappuccino on the house. We will make this our go to dinner place when we are in Lewes this July on vacation.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, Delaware
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Our favorite Italian place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

My husband and I are locals and enjoy eating here. We often bring family and friends to Touch of Italy because we know it will be excellent! From sandwiches, to pizza to their entrees, we have never been disappointed. The service is friendly and efficient.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kensington, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Not what it used to be”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

The bad news is that the "Touch of Italy" is not what it used to be. Once Frankie and Louie left the service and quality simply tanked. The first couple of times I tried to get a sub after Frankie and Louie left I was told that they had no bread for subs. The next few times I tried the subs and they just weren't that good any more. Now the good news is that Frankie and Louie are back. Just walk right by the "Touch of Italy" to the other end of the block and enjoy what the "Touch of Italy" used to be and more at "Frankie and Louie's Italian Specialties".

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frenchtown, New Jersey
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Nice to have a good Italian eatery in Lewes!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

Our first visit to this restaurant. Enjoyed dinner very much. Decent menu, and draws a good crowd even in the off season.
Went back for some lunch sandwiches the next day to enjoy on the beach.
There are a number of tables and a small bar area with stools. The room to the right inside the front door has glass walls and door for some reason - maybe to keep the food cases cool? Not sure...
4 stars because although the food was decent Italian, it is not quite as authentic as you would find in NYC or NJ.
Again - no regrets with dining here.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Touch of Italy also viewed

 

Been to Touch of Italy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Touch of Italy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.