We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Touch of Italy

Touch of Italy
101 2nd Street, Lewes, DE 19958
+1 302-703-3090
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 84 Restaurants in Lewes
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Sandwiches, Delicatessen, Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Touch of Italy was born out of two Italian family traditions that trace back to the late 1800's. These two families trace their roots to the beautiful Marche and Abruzzo regions in Central Italy, where one can find rich cultural traditions and recipes passed down from generation to generation. Touch of Italy first opened in the fall of 2010 in Lewes, Delaware and proudly runs five locations in Ocean City, Lewes and Rehoboth Beach, serving fresh items like handmade mozzarella cheese, pasta, pizza, cookies and crispy bread, as well as high quality imported items from Italy. Touch of Italy is proud to bring the Italian tradition to costal Delaware and Maryland, and pay tribute to our ancestors, who imparted to us a love of food and family.
Denver, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stopped in because my sister in law highly recommended it. We had glasses of wine at the bar and a delicious brick oven pizza on Friday night. We stopped by for a Cappuccino on Sunday and they were having problems with their POS equipment - so he gave us a Cappuccino on the house. We will make this our go to dinner place when we are in Lewes this July on vacation.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Thank Mitch A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Rating summary
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lewes, Delaware
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Our favorite Italian place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

My husband and I are locals and enjoy eating here. We often bring family and friends to Touch of Italy because we know it will be excellent! From sandwiches, to pizza to their entrees, we have never been disappointed. The service is friendly and efficient.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kensington, Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not what it used to be”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

The bad news is that the "Touch of Italy" is not what it used to be. Once Frankie and Louie left the service and quality simply tanked. The first couple of times I tried to get a sub after Frankie and Louie left I was told that they had no bread for subs. The next few times I tried the subs and they just weren't that good any more. Now the good news is that Frankie and Louie are back. Just walk right by the "Touch of Italy" to the other end of the block and enjoy what the "Touch of Italy" used to be and more at "Frankie and Louie's Italian Specialties".

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
1 Thank trailon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frenchtown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
106 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Nice to have a good Italian eatery in Lewes!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

Our first visit to this restaurant. Enjoyed dinner very much. Decent menu, and draws a good crowd even in the off season.
Went back for some lunch sandwiches the next day to enjoy on the beach.
There are a number of tables and a small bar area with stools. The room to the right inside the front door has glass walls and door for some reason - maybe to keep the food cases cool? Not sure...
4 stars because although the food was decent Italian, it is not quite as authentic as you would find in NYC or NJ.
Again - no regrets with dining here.

Visited April 2013
Thank A_TA_Commenter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, Delaware
Level Contributor
45 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Food in Historic Lewes, Delaware”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

On a Friday evening in Historic Lewes, Delaware, 4 of us found ourselves at "Touch of Italy" for an Italian bite and some adult beverages. We were lucky enough to be seated in their private style room, which was appreciated, because the place was packed with people, which suggested to us that there must be something pretty good about the service and food. The manager was very friendly, hospitable and courteous.
We shared an antipasto that was more than enough, as an appetizer with a nice assortment of cheeses, meats, peppers and a giant marinated artichoke accompanied by some, out of this world, Italian bread and evoo. We had a very nice choice of wine and beer and weren't rushed at all while we enjoyed our drinks, antipasto and the company of our good friends.
Then we ordered 1 pizza per couple and a few more drinks. Our server was timely, menu knowledgeable, friendly, and polite. At no time did we feel rushed even though the place was packed.
The pizza was excellent and had that wonderful,wood fire oven, flavor. Being from NY & NJ, we are pizza experts and believe me, this pie was very good.
While visiting the Lewes or Rehoboth resort area have a great meal,or a pizza at "Touch Of Italy". You won't be sorry.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Thank Tony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Touch of Italy also viewed


Been to Touch of Italy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing