We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite Italian place.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Touch of Italy

Touch of Italy
101 2nd Street, Lewes, DE 19958
+1 302-703-3090
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 67 Restaurants in Lewes
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Sandwiches, Delicatessen, Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Description: Touch of Italy was born out of two Italian family traditions that trace back to the late 1800's. These two families trace their roots to the beautiful Marche and Abruzzo regions in Central Italy, where one can find rich cultural traditions and recipes passed down from generation to generation. Touch of Italy first opened in the fall of 2010 in Lewes, Delaware and proudly runs five locations in Ocean City, Lewes and Rehoboth Beach, serving fresh items like handmade mozzarella cheese, pasta, pizza, cookies and crispy bread, as well as high quality imported items from Italy. Touch of Italy is proud to bring the Italian tradition to costal Delaware and Maryland, and pay tribute to our ancestors, who imparted to us a love of food and family.
Lewes, Delaware
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Our favorite Italian place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

My husband and I are locals and enjoy eating here. We often bring family and friends to Touch of Italy because we know it will be excellent! From sandwiches, to pizza to their entrees, we have never been disappointed. The service is friendly and efficient.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    253
    79
    17
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kensington, Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not what it used to be”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

The bad news is that the "Touch of Italy" is not what it used to be. Once Frankie and Louie left the service and quality simply tanked. The first couple of times I tried to get a sub after Frankie and Louie left I was told that they had no bread for subs. The next few times I tried the subs and they just weren't that good any more. Now the good news is that Frankie and Louie are back. Just walk right by the "Touch of Italy" to the other end of the block and enjoy what the "Touch of Italy" used to be and more at "Frankie and Louie's Italian Specialties".

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frenchtown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
106 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Nice to have a good Italian eatery in Lewes!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

Our first visit to this restaurant. Enjoyed dinner very much. Decent menu, and draws a good crowd even in the off season.
Went back for some lunch sandwiches the next day to enjoy on the beach.
There are a number of tables and a small bar area with stools. The room to the right inside the front door has glass walls and door for some reason - maybe to keep the food cases cool? Not sure...
4 stars because although the food was decent Italian, it is not quite as authentic as you would find in NYC or NJ.
Again - no regrets with dining here.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, Delaware
Level Contributor
43 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Food in Historic Lewes, Delaware”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

On a Friday evening in Historic Lewes, Delaware, 4 of us found ourselves at "Touch of Italy" for an Italian bite and some adult beverages. We were lucky enough to be seated in their private style room, which was appreciated, because the place was packed with people, which suggested to us that there must be something pretty good about the service and food. The manager was very friendly, hospitable and courteous.
We shared an antipasto that was more than enough, as an appetizer with a nice assortment of cheeses, meats, peppers and a giant marinated artichoke accompanied by some, out of this world, Italian bread and evoo. We had a very nice choice of wine and beer and weren't rushed at all while we enjoyed our drinks, antipasto and the company of our good friends.
Then we ordered 1 pizza per couple and a few more drinks. Our server was timely, menu knowledgeable, friendly, and polite. At no time did we feel rushed even though the place was packed.
The pizza was excellent and had that wonderful,wood fire oven, flavor. Being from NY & NJ, we are pizza experts and believe me, this pie was very good.
While visiting the Lewes or Rehoboth resort area have a great meal,or a pizza at "Touch Of Italy". You won't be sorry.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
airborne18
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very good food, but impossible for disabled”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

The food and service is good. But I am also disabled and this place is impossible. The only real path through the place is also the customer area for the deli, and of course every customer and server must navigate through it. So unless you go on a very slow night or day, leave your wheelchair or walker at home and crawl in.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Touch of Italy also viewed

 

Been to Touch of Italy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Touch of Italy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.