We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best Italian deli and restaurant!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Touch of Italy

Touch of Italy
101 2nd Street, Lewes, DE 19958
+1 302-703-3090
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 69 Restaurants in Lewes
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Sandwiches, Delicatessen, Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner
Description: Touch of Italy was born out of two Italian family traditions that trace back to the late 1800's. These two families trace their roots to the beautiful Marche and Abruzzo regions in Central Italy, where one can find rich cultural traditions and recipes passed down from generation to generation. Touch of Italy first opened in the fall of 2010 in Lewes, Delaware and proudly runs five locations in Ocean City, Lewes and Rehoboth Beach, serving fresh items like handmade mozzarella cheese, pasta, pizza, cookies and crispy bread, as well as high quality imported items from Italy. Touch of Italy is proud to bring the Italian tradition to costal Delaware and Maryland, and pay tribute to our ancestors, who imparted to us a love of food and family.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
60 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The best Italian deli and restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

The restaurant is cozy with the deli right there. I love the mozarella, tomato and basil sandwich but everything is delicous. They have a great selection of pasta dishes and sandwiches. So fresh! Excellent selection of drinks, too. Now the pastries....ummm. The best! Always have to leave with a bag of treats to go.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    273
    85
    18
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
seaford, de
Level Contributor
75 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Looks, feels,smells, and tastes like you are in a deli in Little Italy, NY!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Great downtown location... fresh and many provisions are direct from Italy or NY! Small eatin area with bar finishes off another cool addition to downtown Lewes!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willow Grove, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A surprising find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Good homemade food in a small restaurant that does not look like the gem that it is. Food was fresh and prepared well.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penna
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“South Philly 1960 something...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

The minute you walk in the door you're transported back to a corner Italian Deli in South Philly in the 1960's. AAhhhhhh......everything smells SO good! Meats, cheeses, hanging from the ceiling. Big bakery counter (you gotta try the chocolate dipped macarons!). Bottom line, the atmosphere is great...& so is the food! Not much to add that hasnt already been said, except to warn you..the place is small. Or at least the seating area is. Maybe 8-10 tables. We usually get our food to go. Off hours are no problem. But if you think you're gonna walk in for dinner at 7p on a weekend...fuggetaboutit. Our favorites: subs (the BEST chicken parm sub), wood fired pizzas, eggplant towers, chicken cutlets, smoked mozzarella...I could go on, but you cant go wrong. Great addition to downtown Lewes!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yonkers, New York
Level Contributor
109 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Little Italy at the Beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

One look was all it took. One brief look at the Touch of Italy in Five Points (their bakery-cafe) or the Touch of Italy in Old Town Lewes (their deli-restaurant) transported me to Little Italy in the Bronx, to the 1950s and trips with Grandma and Grandpa to the Arthur Avenue market and the 187th street bakery.

Bob and Joe and Touch of Italy nailed it In both places, capturing the concept and the authentic ambiente (right down to familiar sights and smells!) of the typical New York Italian salumeria-latteria in Old Lewes and a smart, almost glitzy Italian pasticceria-panetteria (think bakery-cafes like New York's Ferrara's, Baltimore's Vaccaro's) in Five Points. Both locales offer foods and baked goods you'd be hard-pressed to find outside major Italian-American population centers, much less at a beach in Delmarva. Looking for anything from light, crispy sfogliatelle or a typical bastone (a crusty Italian loaf) to fresh mozarella or imported mortadella, you will find it (or they will order it for you!) at Touch of Italy.

I know that our first visit was by chance. But now that we have "Little Italy at the Beach," our next visit to Touch of Italy will be planned well in advance! And I'll be back soon! Torno subito!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Touch of Italy also viewed

 

Been to Touch of Italy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Touch of Italy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.