We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“(don't) fugget about it . . .” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Touch of Italy

Touch of Italy
101 2nd Street, Lewes, DE 19958
302.703.3090
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 74 Restaurants in Lewes
Price range: $9 - $20
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Italian, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night
Description: Touch of Italy was born out of two Italian family traditions that trace back to the late 1800's. These two families trace their roots to the beautiful Marche and Abruzzo regions in Central Italy, where one can find rich cultural traditions and recipes passed down from generation to generation. Touch of Italy first opened in the fall of 2010 in Lewes, Delaware and proudly runs five locations in Ocean City, Lewes and Rehoboth Beach, serving fresh items like handmade mozzarella cheese, pasta, pizza, cookies and crispy bread, as well as high quality imported items from Italy. Touch of Italy is proud to bring the Italian tradition to costal Delaware and Maryland, and pay tribute to our ancestors, who imparted to us a love of food and family.
Dewey Beach, Delaware
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“(don't) fugget about it . . .”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

this tiny Italian "experience" on Baltimore Avenue in downtown Rehoboth Beach is going to blow your mind. Italian meats and cheeses imported from Brooklyn weekly along with pastas and sausages mixed with jars of Italian treats (think capers in Italian salt and lupini beans), home made Italian cookies, bread to die for, olives, subs like you've never experienced before . . . ask the boys to create a platter for your guests (they will make it on your own platters if you bring one in for them) and dazzle your friends with an Italian treat just like being in Italy itself (save the air fare and stay right here in Delaware) . . . go, your are going to be happy that you stepped right in to this little Italian gem of a space!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    56
    12
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great Italian subs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

A little hard to find but worth the effort. Great owners who are very friendly. Real deal and somewhat unexpected for a beach town. Hot subs are a little better than cold subs.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“If you have been to Little Italy in New York or Philly, you will love this.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

The small town of Lewes has a truly great Italian deli and restaurant to compliment the other nice places in town. Meats and cheeses hanging from the ceiling, smells of sandwiches and other fare coming out of the kitchen, this is a great place. My wife and I go here at least once a month to stock up on our favorite Italian foods. Everything is like the bigger cities of New York and Philadelphia. Go here for pizza, a sandwich and take home some of the best cheeses and meats for later. Great place! They also have another location down the road in Rehoboth Beach.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eastern PA
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Did not miss this place if you make a visit to Rehoboth beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Wow!!!! I love sandwiches, but I love GOOD sandwiches. When you come into Touch of Italy you will be amazed at how much they jam pack into this tiny little store. Then take a look at their sandwich menu, my husband and I couldn't even pronounce the meats that were going into our sandwich. At that point we knew it was going to be good. We got the regular Italian sub. I have given up provolone because it lacks any flavor and who needs all those calories for no flavor. But do not PASS up this provolone, holy crud, it was so good. Actually the entire sandwich was outstanding, so good we made sure to get a few more before we headed home. A great place to grab some sandwiches for the beach as well. The biscotti and wedding cookies were amazing. The eclair was very good. As we were getting our sandwiches some kids asked for the meatball sandwich, my husband and I looked at each other and wish we had more money! Well, we will save that for another trip. Great food and kind service.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, New York
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

You are actually seating in an italian deli "heavenly smell". We had pizza, a calzone and a sandwich. Great way to sample the menu.
Everything was delicious!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Touch of Italy also viewed

 

Been to Touch of Italy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Touch of Italy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.