We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“(don't) fugget about it . . .” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Touch of Italy

Touch of Italy
101 2nd St., Lewes, DE 19958
302-827-2730
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #2 of 70 restaurants in Lewes
Price range: $9 - $20
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Italian, Pizza & Pasta
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night
Dewey Beach, Delaware
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“(don't) fugget about it . . .”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

this tiny Italian "experience" on Baltimore Avenue in downtown Rehoboth Beach is going to blow your mind. Italian meats and cheeses imported from Brooklyn weekly along with pastas and sausages mixed with jars of Italian treats (think capers in Italian salt and lupini beans), home made Italian cookies, bread to die for, olives, subs like you've never experienced before . . . ask the boys to create a platter for your guests (they will make it on your own platters if you bring one in for them) and dazzle your friends with an Italian treat just like being in Italy itself (save the air fare and stay right here in Delaware) . . . go, your are going to be happy that you stepped right in to this little Italian gem of a space!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    134
    46
    7
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Italian subs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

A little hard to find but worth the effort. Great owners who are very friendly. Real deal and somewhat unexpected for a beach town. Hot subs are a little better than cold subs.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“If you have been to Little Italy in New York or Philly, you will love this.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

The small town of Lewes has a truly great Italian deli and restaurant to compliment the other nice places in town. Meats and cheeses hanging from the ceiling, smells of sandwiches and other fare coming out of the kitchen, this is a great place. My wife and I go here at least once a month to stock up on our favorite Italian foods. Everything is like the bigger cities of New York and Philadelphia. Go here for pizza, a sandwich and take home some of the best cheeses and meats for later. Great place! They also have another location down the road in Rehoboth Beach.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eastern PA
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Did not miss this place if you make a visit to Rehoboth beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Wow!!!! I love sandwiches, but I love GOOD sandwiches. When you come into Touch of Italy you will be amazed at how much they jam pack into this tiny little store. Then take a look at their sandwich menu, my husband and I couldn't even pronounce the meats that were going into our sandwich. At that point we knew it was going to be good. We got the regular Italian sub. I have given up provolone because it lacks any flavor and who needs all those calories for no flavor. But do not PASS up this provolone, holy crud, it was so good. Actually the entire sandwich was outstanding, so good we made sure to get a few more before we headed home. A great place to grab some sandwiches for the beach as well. The biscotti and wedding cookies were amazing. The eclair was very good. As we were getting our sandwiches some kids asked for the meatball sandwich, my husband and I looked at each other and wish we had more money! Well, we will save that for another trip. Great food and kind service.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, New York
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

You are actually seating in an italian deli "heavenly smell". We had pizza, a calzone and a sandwich. Great way to sample the menu.
Everything was delicious!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Touch of Italy also viewed

 

Been to Touch of Italy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Touch of Italy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.