We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so good” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Sorrento

Villa Sorrento
1551 Savannah Rd Suite # 3, Lewes, DE 19958
302-644-7052
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 79 Restaurants in Lewes
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Lewes, Delaware
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not so good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Place was not full. The service was just ok. The food was not good, dinner was cold in the middle sent it back to be microwaved, so the cheese was too hot to eat and the middle was only warm. No one really seemed to care either. Will not make a return trip.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    8
    7
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
DE
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

This is one of our favorite places for Italian food. The portions are generous and very tasty. They will go out of their way to make sure your food is done properly and that everything is satisfactory. If you are having an event (birthday, etc.) make sure to let them know and Mara (who has a beautiful voice) will come over to your table and sing your favorite song. I'm surprised that there have been several complaints regarding this place but it is a resort area and when summer season is in full swing there can be glitches.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, Delaware
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Long wait, average food, indifferent manager”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Dinning experience at Villa Sorrento was very disappointing. Three of us went for dinner and had a 45 minute wait before our order was delivered to the table. The place wasn't that busy. When we complained to the server, the manager came out and gave a lame excuse that the meal is prepared as ordered from fresh ingredients and it takes time. Don't give a weak excuse. Take the feedback and do something to make a bad experience better. Nothing....no deduct from the bill...nothing. When the food did arrive, it was average at best. If your looking for good service and great food, look somewhere else.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, Delaware, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Totally Unpredictable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Phoned in a left a reservation for six on their machine at 1:45 PM. Also left my cell phone number. When we arrived at 7:00 they denied receiving the reservation and turned us away unapologetically. They lost at least a $350 dinner tab.

Tried it again the following week-just two of us. The food was mediocre, the kitchen slow and the service non-existent. As time has passed, the portions have gotten smaller. My iced tea refill was a glass of hot tea! Waited 15 minutes for a glass of ice-couldn't get ANYONE's attention. Management delivered the pasta 10 minutes after the entree, slammed it down, turned her back on us and walked away.

I might add that we are locals and regulars and that off season there are no problems. Management is not equipped to handle the high season beach rush. And she needs to work on her 'tude

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“One of our favorite spots”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

This is a local secret. Located in an tiny strip center which is deceptive. The food is consistently good, the manager , Mara is delightful and will occasionaly treat diners with an opera trained voice with a song. If there is something you want that may not be on the menu, they will accomodate. For example, my husband is allergic to shrimp, so they subsitute scallops in his seafood dish. I am trying to lose weight and they substitute wonderful garlickly spinach for the pasta - just ask and if they have it they are happy to do it. Make reservations - the restaurant is small and fills up.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Sorrento, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.