We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Steamed Crabs!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Surfing Crab

Surfing Crab
16723 Coastal Hwy, Lewes, DE 19958-3653
302-644-4448
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 79 Restaurants in Lewes
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Maryland
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great Steamed Crabs!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

My husband and I were at the beach for vacation, and decided to get some steamed crabs one evening. The Surfing Crab was close by so we thought we would try it. They steam the crabs fresh which takes about 20-30 minutes. We decided to get an appetizer while we waited for the crabs. We ordered the fried oysters which were very good although I thought that the serving was small for the price. We also tried the potato salad which was good, but again a very small portion. We went for the crabs though, and ordered the large size. We were not disappointed. They were a really nice size, and very full. The service was very good, and the waitress was attentive. We sat in the small dining room with tables and chairs instead of in the dining room with picnic tables. Our only complaint was the noise level. It was quite loud, and difficult to hear each other to talk during dinner. I wish we had sat in the larger room as it seemed a lot less noisy.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    22
    5
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore,Maryland
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“This is THE crab place in Lewes/Rehoboth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We ordered 1 dozen ex large crabs and were not disappointed. They were heavy, tasty, fresh from the Chester River and perfectly cooked, the old fashioned way. Donny and Dawn, the owners, constantly check to make sure their customers are satisfied. This is crab heaven with good pricing.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great crab and crab cake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Very good quality crab, crab cake and soft shell crab. A little pricy to other places. it's well worth it. Be careful about the seasoning they put on the crab. it's spicy.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Get crabs in Delaware”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Drove from Dover to have some crabs...we knew it wasn't in season, but we had to have some. Service is excellent...paper on the picnic tables--nothing fancy...you are smashing crabs with a mallet! Ordered a dozen...got 18 for the same price- threw in extras because some of them were 1 clawed. Had a couple of beers with the crabs. Crabs come with Old Bay on them....they were hot and good...being from New England I would have liked some drawn butter, but that is just me. Bought 2 t-shirts with their logo which we thought was cool....on your way back from Rehoboth Beach...stop by and smash some crabs!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teaneck, New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Seafood joint”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

This is a no BS seafood and crab house. Great atmosphere -- seemed like lots of locals -- friendly, unpretentious service and wonderful food. So glad we found this place

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Surfing Crab also viewed

 

Been to Surfing Crab? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surfing Crab, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.