We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great History” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fort Miles Historic Area at Cape Henlopen State Park

Fort Miles Historic Area at Cape Henlopen State Park
Cape Henlopen State Park, Lewes, DE
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 14 Attractions in Lewes
Type: Historic Walking Areas, Outdoors
Attraction details
Highland Lakes, New Jersey
Top Contributor
296 reviews 296 reviews
80 attraction reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
“Great History”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Kids of all ages will really enjoy the artillery on display. This is along the bike loop trail, so obtain free bikes for 2 hours and enjoy the park.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    19
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kennett Square, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Stunningly Beautiful Vistas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Delaware often gets overlooked by travelers but this is a shame. Not only is Delaware a powerhouse when it comes to industry and farming it is also a state rich with natural beauty. This is especially evident in Lewes – the first town in the first state. Lewes is a gem of a quiet New Englandy coastal town tucked just north of the wild times in Rehoboth Beach. An historic town situated at the mouth of Delaware Bay, Lewes features bay and ocean beaches for fun and play. But Lewes isn’t just about history and beachcombing. Lewes has some of the most scenic savannahs, dune scapes and vistas that you can find on the east coast.

To get a glimpse of what Lewes has to offer try these two stops: On your way to the ferry or the beach pause for a moment on top of the Route 9 bridge and look to the east out over the canal and surrounding flood plain marshes. That is a knock out view. Or after you park your boat at the ramp, walk across the road and look out over the creek riddled land to see herons, osprey, long stretches of savannah – in the early light it is almost dreamy.

If you want an awe inspiring view of what Lewes has to offer, get on your bike and ride along Cape Henlopen State Park’s new Gordons Pond trail. Here is to the park – WOW – accessible, environmentally sensitive and mouth hanging open beauty all around you! This 2+ mile trail winds through forest, forested dune, savannah, water front. It runs from the Heron Point parking area on the Lewes side to the Gordons Pond parking area on the Rehoboth side.

On our first trip it took 2 hours over because we kept stopping to gape but took 20 -25 minutes back. Next time it will take longer because we will be better prepared with: binoculars, better camera, lots and lots of water and a snack; and will be taking lots of photos – we may even be able to come close to rivaling some of those fantastic Kevin Fleming-esque shots!

A great all day excursion from Lewes might be: breakfast at Notting Hill Coffee Roastery in Lewes – then Gordons Pond trail through the parking lot and over local roads into Rehoboth for lunch and browsing at Browseabout Books – then back to Lewes on the Junction and Breakwater Trail arriving back in time for cocktails at Agave and dinner at Half-Full! Bike racks are available all over both towns.

Any way that you enjoy Lewes is a good way – out on the water, lolling on the beach, sitting on the deck at the terminal waiting for the next ferry, hiking, biking, shopping – to see, hear and feel the natural beauty all around you.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, Delaware
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Learn from our past”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Dr. Gary Wray and volunteers and contributors have worked tirelessly to restore Ft. MIles and bring our WWII history back to life. Thank you for winning the war and protecting our past!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“interesting and well kept”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

I have to say we do come from Europe and travelled a lot and also lived in The Netherlands for a short time but I must say this museum is a little gem as it shows people a lot of Lewes dutch heritage and history .
Coming from Ireland, many places and towns have their own heritage centre and it s important to keep history alive.
The guide at the museum - a lovely woman - told us all the story and it was very interesting.
We were there with an infant and with a buggy it was not easy to go upstairs but we enjoyed the ground floor.
I ll defo visit it again when back there

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, Delaware
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A walk in the sand”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This was a beaut wander around an historic military area, turned nature reserve.
The experience was enjoyable, at least by me; My Love does not share my feeling for military history, but, who can blame her?
She did enjoy the close proximity to the many deer We discovered within though.
I Love seeing My Diane Smile; it lights up My Life :)

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Miles Historic Area at Cape Henlopen State Park also viewed

 

Been to Fort Miles Historic Area at Cape Henlopen State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fort Miles Historic Area at Cape Henlopen State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.