We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staying local in Lewes” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Canal Square

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lewes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn at Canal Square
Save
You added Inn at Canal Square to your Saves list
122 Market Street, Lewes, DE 19958   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Lewes
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Gambrills, Maryland
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Staying local in Lewes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

My wife and I booked one night at the Inn for a quick get-away, and we were not disappointed. The staff was very friendly and informative upon checking in, our room was spacious, comfortable, and had a nice balconey overlooking the canal, and breakfast the following morning was a grand spread of fresh fruits, baked goods, meat and cheese, hard-boiled eggs, coffee, tea and juices. The location of the Inn makes it very easy to enjoy the local shops and eateries by foot, and they have a parking lot reserved for hotel guests right across the street from the Inn itself. We enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend this place to others.

Room Tip: Low-numbered rooms on second, third and fourth floors (like 201 or 302) have a better view of the ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    27
    7
    5
    3
See reviews for
15
61
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newark, Delaware
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

The Inn at Canal Square is right on the canal and in the midst of the best shops and restaurants -- it is situated at the best side of the canal. There, you are located where the most independent, foodie-type restaurants, interesting shops, and quaint, strolling-around, small-town feel is. The OTHER side of the canal feels remote from where you will want to be and explore. And if you stay at the OTHER side of the canal you will have to hike over the bridge with lots of traffic. Stay at the Inn at Canal Square. My wife and I got a room on the 4th floor with an excellent view of the water-way and marinas. The room was very quiet -- which we liked. No kids running up and down the halls and no adults/kids slamming doors at all hours of the night. Granted, we may have just been lucky, but this type of place seems to be more geared more to couples and well-mannered folks. The continental breakfast was better than expected and service was excellent. Dinner is not served, but as mentioned, many excellent restaurants are nearby.

Room Tip: Get a room as high up as possible with a water-view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We visited on a weekend in January, recommended by friends who were also staying there. We arrived an hour before the registration closed, but no worries, we were greeted pleasantly and check-in was simple. They even let us keep the car in the courtyard because it was cold and rainy. Our room was comfortable and nice, just what we were looking for. The staff was very friendly and accommodating, allowing me to use their kitchen facilities to heat up some stuff in the microwave and the man even gave me a tray to carry everything back up to my room! The breakfasts are really good and quite plentiful for continental breakfast. It was quite while we were there (off-season) and it felt like we had the place to ourselves. There was even a gym, although we lazily didn't take advantage of it. They gave us the winter weekend discount even after we had already paid for the first day online. The wi-fi was automatic, so I didn't even have to ask for or look for a code! Friendly staff, cozy hotel, great location, discount cards also available for nearby bar. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: There are balcony rooms that are extra (we didn't choose one but our friends did) and have a nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innatcanalsquare, General Manager at Inn at Canal Square, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write, we appreciate all guest comments as we endeavor to insure all guests experience a great stay at the INN. Having read your review, I am pleased to see that we meet your expectations and our goal of exemplary customer service and satisfaction. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, Delaware
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

The Inn was recommended to us by our builder. It was the best recommendation. The room was wonderful with a great view. The staff was always helpful and friendly. The morning breakfast had a great variety of breakfast foods. A great way to start your day. I would recommend the Inn to anyone. YOU won't be disappointed if you stay there. The only thing that could be better was their free wifi. But your not staying in the room that much.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innatcanalsquare, General Manager at Inn at Canal Square, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Thank you for your review. We appreciate it when guests take the time to share their experiences with us and others by writing a review on Tripadvisor. I was pleased to read that you had a pleasant visit and that we met, and hopefully exceeded, your expectations. We hope to see you again soon on your next visit to Lewes.

Regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

We have stayed at the Inn several times in the past however this stay we noticed a few things that could be updated to improve the rooms. But first, the positive which is that the hotel is in a great location within easy walking distance of shops and restaurants. It's also about a twenty minute walk to the bay beach, which is nice because in the summer the parking lot can fill up quickly by the beach. The service is very good as is the complimentary continental breakfast. As for what could be improved: the beds are a bit too firm, the bedspreads are outdated (who puts on bedspreads in a nice inn these days?), the decor is outdated and the overwhelming number of lillies in the lobby made it smell like a funeral home (or it did when we were there)! Given the other hotel options in Lewes though, I'd still rank the Inn as the place to stay.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Located on the harbour, this quaint hotel offers comfortable, clean lodgings walking distance from downtown Lewes and a number of excellent restaurants. Our room had recently been renovated and was excellent. This was our 5th stay and if anything we found recent improvements had made our stay even more comfortable than on past occasions.

Room Tip: They have a pet section that is slightly isolated from the main building making it very convenient i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

We have stayed there several times for one night at a time. It is consistent with clean comfortable rooms. Nor brand new but it works for us. The best part is you can walk anywhere you want to go in Lewes.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at Canal Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Canal Square

Address: 122 Market Street, Lewes, DE 19958
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Lewes
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Lewes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the waterfront in the heart of Historic Lewes, The Inn at Canal Square offers its guests exceptional comfort coupled with seaside charm. With 22 beautifully appointed rooms, three 2BR luxury suites and 2 conference rooms, The Inn serves as an ideal coastal escape, retreat location and event destination. All accommodations are generously sized and most feature a balcony overlooking the Lewes Harbor. The Inn's romantic décor invites you to relax and unwind. The Inn is open year round and offers a complimentary, extensive European-Style breakfast.Centrally located, The Inn is a short distance away from unique shopping, fine dining and bay area beaches. And, it's within a mile of the ocean beaches of Cape Henlopen State Park. Visit the new Canal Front Park, located just next door and enjoy the seasonal flowers and a lovely view of the Lewes Harbor.Our friendly, professional staff is always on hand to assist you with dining options, shopping venues and other area attractions. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inn At Canal Square Hotel Lewes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Canal Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.