We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upscale, friendly hotel in a wonderful town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Canal Square

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lewes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn at Canal Square
Save
You added Inn at Canal Square to your Saves list
122 Market Street, Lewes, DE 19958   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Lewes
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Upscale, friendly hotel in a wonderful town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

My partner and I recently returned for a one-night getaway at the Inn at Canal Square and found it to be as great as we'd remembered. The staff are extremely friendly and the inn itself is very comfortable and conveniently located within walking distance of the shops and restaurants in Lewes. Our room had a balcony and beautiful view of the canal. We had one minor problem with the toilet however the staff were very responsive. Definitely the best place to stay in the area and we'll be back!

Room Tip: Rooms on the canal offer great views of the boats
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    26
    7
    5
    3
See reviews for
12
59
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chester, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband and I wanted to get away from it all and made a reservation at the Inn at Canal Square in Lewes, Delaware. What a great choice! The king courtyard room we stayed in was beautiful. The people at the front desk went out of their way to make our stay wonderful. The Inn is within walking distance to a lot of really good restaurants and shopping. We will definitely be going back there to stay in the near future. Try this gem out you won't be sorry!!

Room Tip: Loved the courtyard room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Burnie, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

New Year's Eve with friends at the Inn at Canal Square was all we had hoped it would be. We stayed in a two-bedroom suite brought food and wine and were treated to a cheese/fruit plate, turned on the gas fireplace, and just had a marvelous time. The kitchen is larger than the one I have at home! Although we stayed put, the Inn is walking distance from the "Anchor Drop" at midnight and strolling through the town.
Wonderful hospitality, idyllic view, just tempting enough to want to stay forever.

Room Tip: Any room is a good room. The suites involve climbing a spiral staircase.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkland, Florida
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Stayed here the night before catching the ferry. Staff was very pleasant, room was well appointed. The view from the room was very nice. Stayed in a corner room on the third floor(302). My son was in room 303 and it was just as well appointed. It was January, so off season and very quiet. I recommend it to anyone contemplating a stay in Lewes, Delaware.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Great getaway location just by the canal. The area offers excellent walks and there are terrific restaurants nearby. We can't say enough about the outstanding service and the great complimentary breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Based on the Tripadvisor reviews, we chose to stay at the Inn before taking the morning Cape May - Lewes ferry. Found that it certainly deserved the excellent reviews -- location,ambeience, service, and Sunday breakfast. Delightful to park our car after a long drive and be able to walk to a large choice of restaurants. We liked it and the town so much that we changed our plans and booked again for our return trip. Have already recommended the Inn to our friend.

Room Tip: request upper floor room for view of the harbor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

I was there for a business seminar from Tuesday to Monday the last week of September. The weather was excellent. It was a great pleasure to run along the beach in the morning. Location of this hotel is very good. Very close to the center of the little town of Lewis. Very convenient to have a dinner to the large choice of restaurant less than 5mn away from the hotel. The hotel is at walking distance from the beach. The room was on ground floor very large and comfortable. This place is giving the impression to be at home. All the staff at the hotel was very helpful. I really appreciated a selection of books available in the room. I could not even find the time to watch the TV

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at Canal Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Canal Square

Address: 122 Market Street, Lewes, DE 19958
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Lewes
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Lewes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the waterfront in the heart of Historic Lewes, The Inn at Canal Square offers its guests exceptional comfort coupled with seaside charm. With 22 beautifully appointed rooms, three 2BR luxury suites and 2 conference rooms, The Inn serves as an ideal coastal escape, retreat location and event destination. All accommodations are generously sized and most feature a balcony overlooking the Lewes Harbor. The Inn's romantic décor invites you to relax and unwind. The Inn is open year round and offers a complimentary, extensive European-Style breakfast.Centrally located, The Inn is a short distance away from unique shopping, fine dining and bay area beaches. And, it's within a mile of the ocean beaches of Cape Henlopen State Park. Visit the new Canal Front Park, located just next door and enjoy the seasonal flowers and a lovely view of the Lewes Harbor.Our friendly, professional staff is always on hand to assist you with dining options, shopping venues and other area attractions. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inn At Canal Square Hotel Lewes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Canal Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.