We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely first night of our honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Canal Square

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lewes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn at Canal Square
Save
You added Inn at Canal Square to your Saves list
122 Market Street, Lewes, DE 19958   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Lewes
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Lovely first night of our honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Lewes was our first stop on our honeymoon roadtrip from our home in PA to Key West and back. We weren't very confident about what we would find, although our decision to go was entirely based off of the good reviews on here and the inclusion of the town in the 1000 Places to See Before You Die - United States book. We were so pleasantly surprised!

Lewes is a beautiful little walking town, situated right on the Lewes-Rehoboth Canal, an easy drive from Rehoboth Beach but without all of the touristy jam-packed-ness.

When we arrived at the Inn, they informed us that our room had not the best view, so they had upgraded us to a nicer room on the 3rd floor looking over the canal - totally unexpected and wonderful! We did have some minor room problems - a light bulb blew out and the mini fridge didn't really get cold at all, but the same woman who checked us in ran right up, fixed the light, tried to fix the fridge, and ended up bringing us up extra ice containers whenever she was unable to fix it. Later that evening, she brought up the wine we had ordered. Steven said that he hadn't had much of a choice - just red or white - but they made a wonderful selection however they did it! We received a bottle of Argentine Malbec, which was delicious.
Breakfast was a nice European style, with fruit and breads laid out, which was quite good for the heat.

We loved our stay and would have enjoyed spending multiple nights here. Do listen to the other recommenders and go for the third floor canal view if possible. Lower floor canal views do put you rather close to a small parking lot. But honestly, the service and location make it worth it even without the lovely view.

Room Tip: Ask for 3rd floor canal view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    27
    7
    5
    3
See reviews for
15
61
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

The Inn is quiet, quaint and well maintained. We had a lovely stay and our room overlooked the canal. Our room was very large with a spacious balcony. They also served a lovely breakfast. We enjoyed the surrounding shopping and dining. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, DE
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Only spent one night there this week. Weather was just tooo hot. But we will be back. The inn is beautiful, clean, well maintained, and quiet. The family next door to us apologized for their little one's crying during the night. We never heard it. Very nice views from the harborview rooms.

Lewes is a quiet retreat. Some very good restaurants near by. Cape Henlopen beach is 5 mins away. The Lewes municipal beach is a good option for small children. Rehoboth and its great dining scene is 10 mins down the road.

Our beach splurges in the past have been the Boardwalk Plaza. The Inn has now taken over that spot.

Room Tip: Harbor view rooms. We had room 304.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks County, Pa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

This quaint hotel is located right along the canal and most rooms have views of the water. My sister and I stayed in room 404. We were quite pleased with the size of the room and spacious balcony.
Watching the boats come in at night, and seeing the sunset from the balcony, was so relaxing. A bonus was the continental breakfast in the morning with excellent coffee!
Free WiFi in rooms, elevator access for higher floors, and comfortable mattresses led to a good night's sleep!
Finally, the entire staff, from housekeeping to the front desk, were always friendly and attentive. Rooms were very clean, and serviced well.
We would not hesitate to stay here on our next visit to Lewes.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Stayed over for a long weekend, great sprawling location right off the main street, right along the inlet. Perfect for couples and those who appreciate the quaint comforts of a bed and breakfast, on the larger scale of a hotel (and no awkward sharing breakfast conversations!). Breakfast was ample--large fruit spread, yogurts, bagels, breads, cereals etc The room was spacious and included a sitting area and a patio overlooking the water, very comfortable bed. Just one block from the main restaurants and town and about a 20 minute walk to the beach. A little pricey but would absolutely stay again, well worth it for a relaxing weekend!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reisterstown, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

This was our third stay at this delightful inn. Best view in area and perfect location to walk to the area' s great restaurants. Very comfortable rooms and helpful staff.

Room Tip: Choose top floor for best view of canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

This hotel, adjacent to Lewes downtown strip, has around 30 rooms tucked into a two buildings overlooking a little courtyard. The gentleman at the front desk was very pleasant. We enjoyed a buffet breakfast in the sunny downstairs breakfast room. Our room was not so special but plenty nice enough.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at Canal Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Canal Square

Address: 122 Market Street, Lewes, DE 19958
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Lewes
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Lewes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the waterfront in the heart of Historic Lewes, The Inn at Canal Square offers its guests exceptional comfort coupled with seaside charm. With 22 beautifully appointed rooms, three 2BR luxury suites and 2 conference rooms, The Inn serves as an ideal coastal escape, retreat location and event destination. All accommodations are generously sized and most feature a balcony overlooking the Lewes Harbor. The Inn's romantic décor invites you to relax and unwind. The Inn is open year round and offers a complimentary, extensive European-Style breakfast.Centrally located, The Inn is a short distance away from unique shopping, fine dining and bay area beaches. And, it's within a mile of the ocean beaches of Cape Henlopen State Park. Visit the new Canal Front Park, located just next door and enjoy the seasonal flowers and a lovely view of the Lewes Harbor.Our friendly, professional staff is always on hand to assist you with dining options, shopping venues and other area attractions. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inn At Canal Square Hotel Lewes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Canal Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.