We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Local Breakfast Spot in Hockessin” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Perfect Cup Cafe

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Perfect Cup Cafe
7460 Lancaster Pike, Hockessin, DE 19390
302-239-9118
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 37 restaurants in Hockessin
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Bagels
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Description: Cozy breakfast and lunch cafe with gourmet coffee, fresh baked pastries and muffins, delicious breakfast sandwiches, pancakes, platters and omelets with fresh ingredients. Lunch includes a wide variety of sandwiches, salads, and soups. Espresso drinks, outdoor tables (seasonally) and free wi-fi.
Hockessin, Delaware
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Local Breakfast Spot in Hockessin”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I have not been back since the restaurant closed recently for remodeling (and has since re-opened) but I hope that they kept the homey feel . This is a great kid-friendly spot for everything from a cup of coffee to brunch. It is true short-order cooking based off of a fairly standard menu but I love that you order and then sit (perfect for little ones), it has a lively noise level when busy and if someone in your party is not up for a full breakfast, there are homemade baked goods. And while we love Starbucks, it is nice to Eat Local.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

72% Recommend
    2
    6
    0
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
PA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Hit or miss”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Have gone twice to the corner cafe. The first time was delicious. My egg white omelettes with broccoli and spinach were perfectly made! They used broccolini, which was sweet and tender. The spinach and onions were delightful, and the cheese they used was yummy!

The second time I went, the same omelette was kind of slapped together. The broccoli was a bit underdone and crunchy for me, and overall, it was a bit lackluster.

So I would say that it's a cute cafe and a great way to support a local coffee shop instead of a starbucks! You could have a delicious breakfast or a pretty good one!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Top Contributor
350 reviews 350 reviews
260 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
“pleasant non-Starbucks cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

pleasant, nice choice, not a chain, homemade muffins, local newspapers, just right. In this age of Starbucks on every corner, a local treasure

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Change of owner has not helped.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

Used to love this place. Now you can't get a take out cup for the refill you bought. Seems the new owners will only honor your bottomless coffee purchase if you use a ceramic cup and drink it in the cafe. Problem is, the coffee gets cold fast. Also, if I'm paying for a "bottomless" cup why can't I get it in a covered paper cup that retains the heat? They lost a customer today.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHILADELPHIA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Consistent, comfortable and always good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

If you are from Hockessin, you will recognize your neighbors here, at the same time in the same seat. Food is fresh and always good, esp the sandwiches. The poor ventilation gives my coats a certain greasy spoon smell whenever I go, but its easy, friendly and close. We go after church, and is our "default" bagel and breakfast joint to read the paper. Not my favorite coffee, frankly, but Ive gotten used to it. Home away from home for many Hockessiners esp the Yorklyn side.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Perfect Cup Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Perfect Cup Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Perfect Cup Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.