We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food all right, but” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Back Burner Restaurant

Back Burner Restaurant
425 Hockessin Corner, Hockessin, DE 19707
302-239-2314
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Back Burner Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 39 Restaurants in Hockessin
Price range: $25 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Old Lancaster Pike
Wilmington, Delaware
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Food all right, but”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2014

the service was disappointing. My wife ordered the lamb tagine which she liked, but it was served warm as was my smoked duck ravioli. The flavor was very good and the portions were adequate. The downfall was the service from the time we entered until we left. The hostess was busy talking to a server while we just stood there waiting to be seated a bit too long, the servers did not know who ordered what and they reached across us to serve starters and mains. The main problem was the check which was doubled. It was all sorted out, but it highlights the entire staff needs training.

  • Visited November 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    21
    12
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Chester, PA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Avoid Cafe”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2014

Went on a Sunday, restaurant not open so went to cafe. Ordered a sandwich and water. I was overcharged substantially but decided not to make a fuss. Several minutes later, a different person approached and said they were out of what I ordered. I then order an even less expensive item, and get that, but no refund for the difference in price. Food was okay, not great. Would not go out of my way to return.

  • Visited November 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hockessin, Delaware
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere & good food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

Sometimes you want to talk and get great drinks and an appetizer. I went to the Back Burner bar on Saturday evening and there are usually 2 seats either at the bar of in the bar. The service was prompt and the server explained that the appetizers were 1/2 price until 6PM. We had the mushrooms stuffed with crab - very tasty! I had a nice Martini and my friend had a glass of chardonnay. The server told us of the specials. The BB has a nice sophisticated atmosphere and you can carry on a conversation. Will try them for dinner soon.

  • Visited November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware, USA
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Charming and Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

Charming spot in Hockessin. The decor is rustic ski lodge. The service by Diana was great! The pumpkin mushroom soup lives up to the hype!! Entrees were daily specials of ribeye and Hawaiian white fish. Both were prepared perfectly and served attractively. Will return!

  • Visited October 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverton
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Worth the search”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

Our experience on a Saturday evening at about 530, was a delight. The decor and set up greet you. It is cozy and well laid out. Our waitress was perfect. She knew her stuff, but was not pushy. We had a prix fixe meal. I had the pumpkin mushroom soup and free range chicken, quite nice. My husband had the poached pear salad and a fish, also quite good. I had the chocolate sampler and my husband had the apple cake. We enjoyed the local beer on tap. All in all a enjoyable time was had. We would come back.

  • Visited October 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Back Burner Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Back Burner Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Back Burner Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.