We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Georgetown Family Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Georgetown Family Restaurant
115 E Market St, Georgetown, DE 19947-1405
302-855-0305
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 33 Restaurants in Georgetown
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
Elkridge, Maryland
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“friendly service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

good service, but food just average. Nothing special. out of 3 restaurants on the street, this looked to be the cleanest, and safest!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    17
    8
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good Food, Good Price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We were passing through on our way to Rehoboth Beach and stopped at the Georgetown Family Restaurant for breakfast. Food was good, inexpensive.

When we sat down, there was perhaps a 5-10 minute delay due to a mixup as to which server was assigned to our table. We hardly noticed, talking about the rest of day. Even though we did not mention this, they reduced our already low bill by 10% because they felt we had not been taken care of right. High integrity, nice family restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford DE
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

My husband's graduating class meets there monthly for breakfast. Always get a lot, and reasonable prices.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaford, Delaware
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Restaurant Inspectors Needed at Georgetown Family Restaurant!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Georgetown is the County Seat of Sussex County, Delaware, so when we moved to nearby Seaford in June, 2012, we had some documents to file and some other errands that took us to the lovely and historic seat of county government. While in the neat and clean, brick paved, Colonial style, park-like downtown area we decided to get lunch while visiting. The first choice, the popular Brick House was unfortunately closed on Mondays, so we started looking for an alternative eating establishment. The town center has very little to offer, as highway 113 runs along the western edge of Georgetown and is stocked with all sorts of fast food restaurants and other small storefront eateries of less distinction. We chose the only other in town restaurant we could find.
We ordered the special of the day, a fish meal that we expected to be a wise choice. The sandwich was delivered to our table by a frustrated waitress, who was running back and forth to the kitchen, avoiding haphazardly placed tables and chairs and wet spots on the floor where there were neglected spills. Platters were set in front of us. We asked for flatware and it came in a few minutes. Condiments left on the table were either empty or dirty. The food was greasy, unappealing, soggy, and barely warm. The room was noisy, dirty, loud, and cluttered. When we paid the bill, no one bothered to ask how it was. They probably didn't want to hear our answer. Somehow this place is busy!
A couple months later we were in Georgetown again at lunch time. I decided we should give the Georgetown Family Restaurant another chance. After all, maybe the first time was merely bad timing! The place was again quite busy.
I will save space here: we ordered from the regular lunch menu this time. Sandwiches and soup. Now, please re-read the earlier description in paragraph 2, as the rest was nearly an exact repeat of our earlier visit. My fault for going back!
The place always seems busy and remains in business. Maybe the people who live or work in town cannot afford the other restaurant in the center of town, so the Georgetown Family Restaurant is their only choice! If I were in their shoes, I would stock up on frozen dinners!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgetown
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great food at a good price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

Diner type menu - if they don't have it, I don't know what it is. This isn't fine cuisine but the food is fresh, homemade and very reasonably priced. Check out the daily specials, and the regular menu goes from sandwiches to dinners. Only down side - wide open dining can get a little loud. Overall it's a go to place for Georgetown.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Georgetown Family Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Georgetown Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Georgetown Family Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.