We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Marriott in Dover was a welcome retreat from work in Northern Delaware.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Residence Inn Dover

Save Saved
You added Marriott Residence Inn Dover to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marriott Residence Inn Dover
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   600 Jefferic Blvd, Dover, DE 19901   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #8 of 20 hotels in Dover
Wilmington, Delaware
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“The Marriott in Dover was a welcome retreat from work in Northern Delaware.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

I stayed at the Marriott in Dover over the weekend for a quick trip. I had absolutely no issues with anything at this hotel. All of the staff were very professional. The room was clean, had a mini-fridge, a microwave, and was easy to keep at the desired temperature. The pool was pretty small but is heated and there is a tiny (maybe 4 person) hot tub. The fitness center has dumbells, treadmills with installed televisions, and at least one other machine. The "business center" in the lobby was like it is in most hotels-- a computer off in a separate corner. The breakfast was very good-- eggs, toast, bagels, coffee, juice, etc.

The hotel is very close to Dover Downs Casino, Dover International Speedway, many good restaurants and downtown Dover. There is a liquor store across the street (13).

Overall, this hotel was very relaxing. But I'd hate to see how it is packed on race weekend in Dover.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    34
    12
    6
    6
See reviews for
38
26
7
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Joppa, Maryland
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011 via mobile

Before coming here, I read nothing but good reviews about this place, but after getting here, different story. It first started with check-in. I paid for room upfront as per the marriot website, I get here and was asked for a CC for the file, so I gave her a different one. I asked if my room was paid for and was told that they do not charge until check out. If that was the case, why did I have to provide a CC ahead of time if it was not charged? Next, upon checking both beds in the room, hair was in both beds in the sheets. NASTY!!!! But to top it off, I called to request more sheets, and got sheets with hair in them too! Next morning, went to the breakfast area to only encounter a rude stafff member. My son has food allergies and I wanted to ask about how the oatmeal was prepared and she was answering my question with what she thought I was going to ask her. I like the setup of the hotel, but will give serious consider to coming here again. I'll probably go to HI

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

This hotel was priced well for the amenities and location. I felt comfortable and safe. The staff was welcoming and helpful. Breakfast is included and pretty good. The only reason I didn't give it all 5s was because they asked us to downgrade our room from a one bedroom to studio to accommodate other guests with children. It was not a problem and the studio was all we needed, but they could have offered us a discounted rate for the inconvenience (they changed us to a studio rate, but didn't offer anything more). It was not a deal breaker but it was our anniversary and it would have been a little more romantic to have the room with the fireplace like we booked. At any rate, we will book another stay in a few weeks. Hopefully, we will get our fireplace then...

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2011

It is April 1, 2011 and I am traveling with 3 college friends who are 50+ in age and very selective about hotels. This Marriott Residence Inn has by far exceeded our expectations. The front desk staff was pleasant, yet professional. They have obviously corrected the behavior of the front desk staff as described in other Trip Advisor reviews. The lobby area is colorful and nicely appointed. Our two bed room/two bath, full kitchen suite is lovely. The rooms are clean as are the bathrooms. I have stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn, in Dover on a couple of occasions and this hotel surpasses it. The only flaw is the room isn't sound proof. We hear some noises (doors closing, but not enough to spoil our trip) My next business trip to Dover, I will be staying here not the Hilton Garden and I am a Hilton Honors member.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Framingham
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
233 helpful votes 233 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2010

we have stayed here twice over the years. and been happy with the place both times. Like the layout of the room. Having a kitchenetter (no oven).

bed is on the firmer side. could use a luggage rack or racks in the room.

would be nice if a place to hang coats by the door (hook on the wall).

AC/heat is quiet.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights on a business trip. It was a nice hotel, liked having the efficiency room. Slept well and it was very well kept. Recommended.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

We stayed in a two bedroom suite for one night. Clean, fully equipped suite with lots of amenities. Just make sure you bring your own drinks...bought 3 sodas from the Market for $7.50...ouch! Staff was helpful with supplying menus for take out (too bad the Chinese place didn't have any 2 liter bottles of soda) and courteous and helpful at check-in and check-out. The kids loved the pool and the workout room was great. Yummy breakfast with lots of choices...the kids loved it!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marriott Residence Inn Dover? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Residence Inn Dover

Address: 600 Jefferic Blvd, Dover, DE 19901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Dover
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Marriott Residence Inn Dover 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Tingo, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Marriott Residence Inn Dover reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Residence Inn Dover Hotel Dover
Residence Inn Dover
Marriott Dover
Dover Marriott
Dover Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Residence Inn Dover, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.