We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super 8 Experience was not so super. The reservations...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Dover

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Dover to your Saves list
Super 8 Dover
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   348 North Dupont Highway, Dover, DE 19901 (Formerly Lakeside Inn & Suites)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #19 of 20 Hotels in Dover
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    15
    15
    27
    44
See reviews for
28
27
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phila
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We were there to work the 3 day Firefly festival. So we did not send to much time in are room but one suggestion I have it to up grade pillows and if there are 2 guests there should be at least 4 pillows and more than 2 towels. We never got a chance to ask for extra due to only being in are room for a few hours.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean View
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

This hotel ranks as the second worst hotel I've ever stayed in. We went for the Firefly music festival. We stayed three nights and did not get room service the entire time. We had to demand clean towels, after day 2. The front desk person at night gave some lame excuse about how some people didn't want room service, so that's why we didn't get fresh towels OR room service. (Nevermind the fact that we DID NOT have the DND sign on the door.) I could only recommend this hotel if its the only hotel in town with a room and you're only going to stay one night. Otherwise, run! Run away fast!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snow Hill
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

no hot water, the housekeepers are terrible they did not clean my room. all she really had to do was dust and take the trash and leave towels... the bed spread was only a curtain.. or what looked to be a curtain it sure wasn't a blanket...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bladensburg, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Nothing at all good to say about this place. The lobby is being done over and I didn't ask if they planned on renovating the rooms, but it should happen and fast. Everything is old. The beds look and feel like somebody took some newspaper and paper towels, covered them in 20 thread count sheets with another sheet that was supposed to be a comforter and called it a bed!

The room had chipped paint, stained carpets, furniture that looked as if it was donated by Goodwill and these attributes were the GOOD points about this place! The place just gave you a feeling of.....yuck.

We only stayed here because Priceline booked us at the Days Inn down the road but there was no available room there or anywhere else decent. We should have been paid to stay at this trap instead of the other way around.

Also as a tip, no need to ask and receive extended check out. Apparently the front desk staff and the 3 different room cleaning staff don't communicate because we were awakened 3 separate times in 1 hour by knocks on the door to clean the room. Each time telling the next person the same thing.. "We know check out is 11:00am, but the front desk gave us until 1pm". We stayed out at he casino late and wanted a an extra hour or so to sleep, but by the FOURTH knock on the door telling us it was check out time, WHAT WAS THE POINT.

all in all, my recommendation is to keep driving to another hotel or just sleep in your car.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I stay here for NASCAR races. The price they charge for race weekend should be a crime. You get, almost no service. Regular rates are $85 per night, for race weekend it's 175 per night! Last year, I never had the beds made in 3 days. This year, in a double bed room, they made one bed only. When I say 'made', I mean they pulled the sheets back up and tucked them in. If you want a blanket, it is rolled up in a ball on the shelf (not folded) in the bathroom.
When I showered, the towel rack fell off the wall because it was only screwed into the sheetrock. They didn't even clean the sheetrock debris out of the tub while I was out for the day. All the rooms are furnished with USED furniture they have bought from other motels that remodeled. Most of it doesn't even match. Another example of rebranded old buildings with a new name. Manager seems concerned, but you never get satisfaction on complaints. These people come in and buy run down motels and fix them up so people think it is a 'chain' business, when in reality, they just pay to use the name. Super 8 does not own it and doesn't offer any assistance because it is privately owned. If you have lawn chairs, you can go out back and sit on the remains of the lakeside building that was demolished 5 years ago. And get up early if you want 'breakfast'. They put it all away pretty fast. (If you like muffins wrapped in plastic.)

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Dover? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Dover

Address: 348 North Dupont Highway, Dover, DE 19901 (Formerly Lakeside Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Dover
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 20 Hotels in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Dover 2*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wyndham, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Super 8 Dover reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dover Super 8
Dover Super Eight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Dover, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.