We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Advertised FREE breakfast was non-existent.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Dover

Save Saved
You added Super 8 Dover to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 Dover
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   348 North Dupont Highway, Dover, DE 19901 (Formerly Lakeside Inn & Suites)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 20 hotels in Dover
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Advertised FREE breakfast was non-existent.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Under renovation, but that is no excuse for the lack of breakfast, and lack of attention to our complaint about a 'chirping' smoke detector!!! We called to complain, and when no one came to fix it, we had to go to office and be moved to another room!!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    13
    11
    23
    28
See reviews for
22
19
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
charlottesville va
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

The room was very dirty and there was hair that didn't belong to us on the pillows. We asked for extra towels the night we checked in, we even went to the desk to try to get them and didn't receive them until we were about to checkout the next day. The bathroom looked like it was about to fall apart, the shower sprayed water every direction but the right one. The lamp shades were disgusting with crap all over them. We tried to to open the door to the night stand and the front of it fell to the floor. Like I said it ABSOLUTELY AWFUL!!!!!!!!! I would never ever stay there again.

Room Tip: Find another room at another hotel!!!!!
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enola, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We stayed here for our honeymoon and I must say this place was pretty bad. The night staff were very nice when we went to check in though. Even had a new girl being trained. We got a single king smoking room. Upon entering the lights in the room didn't work. The TV cable with Directv was blurry and skipped. The shower was huge!!! There was no phone or alarm clock (ended up oversleeping past check out-I wanted breakfast) I went back out after getting settled in the room and I understand it was my fault for not locking my doors but there was some random black man just sitting in my passenger seat looking through my car (being pregnant it scared me crapless thinking he would attack me)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

I wasn't expecting anything nice for the price that I paid ($65 a night). The room was average, and it was clean. We even had a microwave and a fridge in our room, and it worked. The bathroom was small, but relatively clean. However, our shower head was a little messed up. However, for the money that we paid, I was satisfied.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with cheaprooms.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

I am a reasonable person, with moderate expectations, but this was the single worst hotel experience I have ever had. I booked the hotel for 3 nights during the 2012 Firefly festival. Where to start. Well, there was the ordeal of changing the primary name on the reservation. After talking to three people the manager was able to do it; however, when I arrived they tried to explain to me that the original name was not mine and even with a note on the reservation that we called and changed it, there was nothing they could do. Eventually relenting and letting me check in they then tried to refuse my credit card insisting on only being able the use the one the room was reserved on.

Well eventually I got into my room. Upon first inspection the room looked good, new TV, nice looking batheroom. Over the course of the weekend I realized that the toilet barely worked, only the light in the bathroom worked, the TV came in fuzzy, and the phone in the room did not work at all. The sheets and towels were stained and I have a strong suspicion that there were bed bugs. On top of this my room keys deactivated every night, even through I had been reassured that they would not. Subsequently,there is no way to enter the hotel lobby from the back of the hotel because of renovations meaning to get to the lobby you must get back into your car or walk down a dark alley to get your key reactivated.

On top of this, my room was never cleaned once during my stay! If I had any other choice (all the hotels were booked for the weekend because of the festival) I would have left after the first night. I seriously contemplated staying in my car.

I do not recommend this hotel at all, stay elsewhere!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norther Central PA
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

My husband and I stayed here on Saturday, July 27, 2012. Price was fair, room was very clean, grounds were nice, continental breakfast was good and food was plentiful. If it wouldn't have been for the people above us who sounded like they were running a marathon at 3 in the morning (not managements fault), it would have been a perfect night. We heard no other noise. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Super 8 Dover? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Dover

Address: 348 North Dupont Highway, Dover, DE 19901 (Formerly Lakeside Inn & Suites)
Location: United States > Delaware > Dover
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 20 hotels in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Dover 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wyndham, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Super 8 Dover reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dover Super 8
Dover Super Eight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Dover, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.