We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Disappointed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Dover

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Dover to your Saves list
Super 8 Dover
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   348 North Dupont Highway, Dover, DE 19901 (Formerly Lakeside Inn & Suites)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 20 Hotels in Dover
Norther Central PA
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Not Disappointed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

My husband and I stayed here on Saturday, July 27, 2012. Price was fair, room was very clean, grounds were nice, continental breakfast was good and food was plentiful. If it wouldn't have been for the people above us who sounded like they were running a marathon at 3 in the morning (not managements fault), it would have been a perfect night. We heard no other noise. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    15
    13
    25
    35
See reviews for
25
22
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

I was really expecting a terrible weekend because of how cheap it was (about $60 per night) and based on previous reviews, but I was definitely pleasantly surprised. The front desk staff members were really helpful and didn't seem to hate their jobs, the rooms was basic but clean enough, and there were no bed bugs. You can hear a lot through the walls and there were some quirks with the AC and the shower, but nothing was that bad. For the money this place was definitely a good deal. If you are looking for a really nice, modern hotel, though, somewhere else may be a better option for you. I was in town for the Firefly music festival and wasn't in the room much. It was just nice to have a decent place to sleep at night.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed here for the Firefly festival Jul 20-22. If you want Ritz Carlton service, go pay Ritz Carlton prices. For what we needed it was perfect. We were only in the room to sleep. it was clean and everything worked. The staff is VERY friendly and helpful. The owner of the hotel was nice enough to drive us to the festival twice. Those who want to complain need to keep in mind the discounted price you are paying. Great hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Shade, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Our one night at this roach motel was awful.
While the manager on duty was very pleasant, our room was less than satisfactory.
There was no remote for the TV. The water in the bathroom ran lukewarm in the shower and sink.
Two of our towels were a gross grey color.
We asked for a non-smoking room but clearly someone had been smoking in our room quite recently.
Worst of all, the people on either side of us decided to stand outside and talk very loudly until midnight. They screamed, yelled, slammed doors, and stomped back and forth for two hours
.
When we went to check out, there was no one available for over 15 minutes. We finally had to demagnetize our keys and toss them over the counter or we were going to be late for our race.

This roach motel is not worth the money.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel at all costs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Tx
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

Room was fairly plain, but very clean. Beds OK and Pillows OK, but no real blankets on bed just a thin bedspread. Thank goodness that the heater worked well. Clerk not helpful, but no problems checking in or out Breakfast was good

Room Tip: We stayed here in order to visit Bombay Hook National Wildlife Refuge which is 20 miles out. Had tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

lets start with the rude indian up at the front desk i seen him on the phone with a customer and he just hung up on them. i made a complaint about the toilet in lobby which was covered with poop and i relised instead of it being cleaned an out of order sign was put up. days later the sign was still up and the toilet still wasnt clean. I was charged 60 plus tax for my room but my friend who is black was charged 75 plus tax. I got a nicer room and he got a run down room with a hole in the wall. it says you get a complimentary breakfast. they had stale cereal and stale danishes. and it says the breakfast dosent close until 10 on weekends it was about 930 and the rude indian was putting everything away. and theres plenty more to tell

Room Tip: i wouldnt stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rome, ga
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

My family has sheep, and this year we traveled to Delaware for a sheep show. We are used to staying in mediocre places, so we aren't that picky. The stay was okay, the room was kind of dingy and smelled like smoke. It wasn't that pleasant of a place to stay, THEN we went to check out. I went and talked to the man at the counter and went through the checkout process. I asked him for my receipt ( that way i can take it off of my farm taxes), and he told me he couldn't give me one, because i went online and made my reservation. I DID IT OVER THE PHONE. This "SUPER 8" put my credit card information in a website and didn't tell me!! I have been trying to call, but they all tell me I made my reservation online! I DIDN'T!! THEY EVEN TRIED TO SAY I CALLED AND CANCELLED FOR ONE NIGHT, but now the "SUPER 8" is telling meI NEVER EVEN SHOWED FOR MY RESERVATION!! WHAT IS GOING ON?! They are all a bunch of liars who do whatever they want with your credit card information!!! DONT STAY HERE!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Dover? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Dover

Address: 348 North Dupont Highway, Dover, DE 19901 (Formerly Lakeside Inn & Suites)
Location: United States > Delaware > Dover
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 20 Hotels in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Dover 2*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Super 8 Dover reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dover Super 8
Dover Super Eight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Dover, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.