We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than a general store!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Byler's

Byler's
1368 Rose Valley School Rd, Dover, DE 19904
(302)674-1689
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 Shopping in Dover
Type: Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Smyrna, DE
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“More than a general store!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

What do you get when you combine an Amish bakery with a fireplace shop, with outdoor patio furniture, with kids playsets and outdoor gas grills, with a kitchen gadgets shop, with bulk groceries, with overruns and recently expired foods, with a huge deli and sandwich area, and an awesome ice cream stand--that's Bylers! Located in the middle of Amish country, we shop here frequently for bulk and hard-to-find items, as well as their grocery section that includes many off-brands, one-off name brand promotional items, as well as soon-to-expire or recently expired foods. There are bargains to be found and the selection changes frequently. What doesn't change is the excellent deli section (prices are consistently cheaper than regular grocery stores) and the huge $1.00 hand-dipped ice cream cones. Byler's has a newer 2nd location in Harrington, DE but it doesn't have the same feel as the original location in Dover. A definite experience and worth checking out! Keep in mind they are closed on Sundays!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    5
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dover, Delaware
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Old Fashioned bulk produce market”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

This market is quite unique. They have every kind of herb and grains in bulk that you can imagine. They also have a top notch deli and great ice cream at low low prices.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drammen, Norway
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Love this store!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Amazingly good and cheap ice cream!! They also have an amazing selection of groceries and also a non food section with various articles. I love just walking around and looking at all the different stuff they have. But of course, the main attraction here is the ice cream and where you can order a custom made sandwich/salad etc. Cheap and really good.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“AMISH GENERAL STORE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Always stop by every visit to dover for lunch & ice cream, sandwiches & hot food at very reasonable prices single scoop ice cream $1.00.
have excellent selection of desserts

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Top Contributor
669 reviews 669 reviews
270 attraction reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
1,253 helpful votes 1,253 helpful votes
“Nice Amish-Country Market”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I love to shop at Byler's. It is a really neat Amish-Country market. It has a huge selection of gift items from wooden signs to candles. They have a nice selection of kitchenware. I have personally bought cupcake holders, cooling racks and spatulas here. They also have stoves & fireplaces. They sell outside playsets for the kids too. They have a nice selection of grocery items here. They have some bulk foods in addition to candies, canned goods, cereals, dairy, produce, baked goods and frozen foods. I purchased various candies here to make a pink & white themed candy bar for a party. It turned out pretty. I think they have a nice selection to choose from. I also love the bulk spices, dusting sugars and yogurt dipped pretzels. I often leave with random grocery items like apples, ketchup & cereal. I feel like they have great prices on most of the grocery items. They even carry baby items like diapers & wipes. I usually get some of their baked goods too. I love their lemon squares. Another item we can't pass up is the hand dipped ice cream!! It is delish & a bargain at only $1 for a decent sized cone!!

Overall a nice place to shop. They have a neat selection of items--giftware, appliances, grocery & more! It is worth a stop when in Dover.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Byler's also viewed

 

Been to Byler's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Byler's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.