We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stay at Dover Downs” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dover Downs Hotel & Casino

Save Saved
You added Dover Downs Hotel & Casino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dover Downs Hotel & Casino
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1131 N. Dupont Highway, US Route 13, Dover, DE 19901   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 20 hotels in Dover
GreenLeadersBronze level
Annapolis,MD
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Overnight stay at Dover Downs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

My husband and I had a very nice stay recently. The room was large and clean and the bathroom was huge. We enjoyed three meals at the buffet...dinner was the best of the three, with a lot of seafood, soft shell crabs, and other great choices.Unfortunately some dishes were overcooked at each meal. We watched harness racing in the evening, and then enjoyed the casino for a few hours. Even though we are not big gamblers, it was fun. The hotel staff couldn't have been nicer. We plan to go back again.

Room Tip: Ask for a trackside room...more to see.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    111
    116
    34
    11
    13
See reviews for
37
153
10
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bear, Delaware
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We had a very nice stay at Dover Downs. The room was very spacious and clean.The beds were clean and comfortable. When we called housekeeping for more pillows, they arrived in just a few minutes. They had a nice indoor pool,( 3.5 ft deep) and it was clean as well as the exercise room. There were a few pieces of exercise equipment not alot , but it was very well laid out. they also had steam rooms,( ladies and mens).We enjoy our stay and have already booked another room later in May.The hotel lobby was extremely clean and well lit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Rec'd this as a gift, we were visiting relatives in Dover. We arrived around 2 pm, were told we couldn't check in until after 4 pm. Had to meet relatives prior to freshening up then check back later to check in. Average room. Large bathroom. Just nothing great about it. We're not gamblers, perhaps that's just the biggest draw about Dover Downs. And parking is difficult - we don't prefer valet parking and always had to drive around and around to find an available parking spot in the lot.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia, USA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Have been going to Dover Downs since they opened, even before they had a hotel. The addition of the hotel, and the later addition to the hotel, make the place a nice place to relax and play for a few days. While one has to drive to see any other local attractions, the restaurants at the Hotel and Casino are ample and offer a variety of food choices. The buffet has been greatly upgraded since the early days, so if you haven't tried it recently, give it another chance. The Garden Cafe is also adequate and extremely reasonable in price. Still love their Strawberry Fantasy, and have found several new items on the menu that I enjoy very much. The hotel rooms are always clean and well kept although if your room is in the addition to the hotel, you could be some distance from the elevator. Be sure to ask for a room close to the elevators if you have any physical limitations. The front desk is always very respectful of any requests we make and fulfills any reasonable requests with no hassel. All in all, a few days at Dover Downs is still a fun experience. Our latest trip in January was great, and the hotel even upgraded us to a suite, and we look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the elevators if you have physical limitations,, and, if you care about the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed here on a Travel Zoo voucher for one night. It was a great deal. We had a room on the track and were able to bet on horses and watch the races from our room, Overall hotel and casino were clean and service was good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piney Point
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Used a Travelzoo offer for an overnight stay last week. There was a bit of a line for check-in with only two people working until they finally called in two more. Then the room was not ready for another hour. The room was large with a track view but was the end of the track- # 763- and as stated on other reviews not the best. The room appeared to be clean but a closer look showed a lot of dust. What was worse was hair in the shower and urine on the toilet. Nasty!!!
The Buffet was ok for dinner and breakfast, good selection. Salad bar was very good.
Casino was clean and a good variety of slots. Everyone was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Took advantage of travelzoo deal a couple of weeks ago. The lobby was very lovely & elegant, check in great. We got a corner room, racetrack view on 8th floor, so spacious. Bathroom huge! Had dinner @ Doc Ms, both enjoyed meal. Fresh seafood. After dinner, I played slots for 3 hours & broke even. Next morning hubby said breakfast buffet was good, lots to choose from. I went to spa in morning. My treatment was fabulous, but the spa facilty left alot to be desired. The waiting area was very relaxing, in a Bali theme with lemon water or green tea & cookies. But there was no pool or steam room or anything. When I made the appt, I told them I was using the travelzoo voucher which was suppose to be a $25 credit, but when i went to pay, they did not honor. Said my treatment was already discounted. Poor customer service on that end. Had late lunch at the buffet, good selection and nice service. Played more on casino floor, which was getting very busy as it was Fri evening.. hubby won $900!!! Used the 20% off coupons on a sweatshirt & shot glass and at the Godiva shop, lady made me a fresh strawberry & banana kebob..delish!!! Looking forward to going back

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dover Downs Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dover Downs Hotel & Casino

Address: 1131 N. Dupont Highway, US Route 13, Dover, DE 19901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Dover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Dover
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dover Downs Hotel & Casino 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AAA ranked Dover Downs Hotel & Casino as a premier Four Diamond property – that means our luxurious accommodations, amenities and activities give you MORE. Dover Downs Hotel & Casino offers many services that will enhance your stay – headline entertainers, state of the art gaming, live harness racing and poker, and a luxurious, South Pacific-inspired full-service spa that will leave you relaxed and looking and feeling your best. Do not forget to visit The Colonnade for our exquisite boutique shops, in addition to our award-winning restaurants, bars and lounges. At Dover Downs Hotel & Casino, we have it all!For Business and PleasureWhether you are a first time guest from the Mid-Atlantic, a business traveler coming into Dover on business, or a Delaware resident who would just like to spend a night in a luxurious hotel, we have everything to make your stay with us a memorable and comfortable experience.We offer a variety of room sizes and rates with discounts available for large groups. We know that you will find Dover Downs Hotel & Casino to be the perfect place for your next getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Dover Downs Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dover Downs Hotel Dover
Dover Downs Hotel And Casino
Downs Dover

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dover Downs Hotel & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.