We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean and good value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Dover

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Dover to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Dover
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1568 North Dupont Highway, Dover, DE 19901   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Dover
Halifax, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“clean and good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Clean room, well equipped. Particularly good breakfast, helpful staff. Convenient stop on the way south to Florida and takes pets. Will be staying on the way north. Very quiet area back from the main road.

Room Tip: room 100 if you have a dog. Easy access to outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptondover, General Manager at Hampton Inn Dover, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on trip advisor. We always appreciate your comments as they help us to improve our hotel for you our valued guest.
Please let me know if there is anything at all that we may do to make your next stay better.

Thank you.
Cindy Price-GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    59
    21
    13
    1
See reviews for
47
46
18
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Hubby and I stayed one night here because it was halfway during a long ride home. Stayed in a 3rd floor room in the front of the building. Quiet location. Staff friendly. Breakfast a-okay. Wonderfully comfortable mattress. Hats off to housekeeping--common areas and room were very clean. Why did I rate it only "average"? Two reasons. 1) Old style heater/AC unit was either on or off; no temperature control and very loud at that. We shut it off when we went to sleep, but I can't imagine what you'd do when you need AC. 2) Furniture in room was shabby and in sore need of TLC. For example, the ottoman was very stained; in order to rest my feet on it, I put a clean towel down on it first. In and of itself, old furniture wouldn't be a deal breaker, but coupled with the loud heat/AC unit, I'll take my money and stay elsewhere next time I'm in town, sorry.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptondover, General Manager at Hampton Inn Dover, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We always appreciate your comments as they help us to improve our hotel for our valued guests. Please be advised that we will be making improvements to our hotel in the near future. I am sorry to hear that the HVAC unit was not up to standards and I assure you that every effort will be made to correct this issue.
Thank you.
Cindy Price-GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I also appreciated the friendly staff and typical Hampton Inn experience; however, I felt like the rooms smelled like sweat. My first room was unbearable. I have never had to ask for a room change before, but the smell of sweat was overwhelming. My next room had just a hint of smell (or maybe it was burnt into my sinuses from the first room) but it was fine. Based on the customer service and other's experiences I would give it another shot next time I'm in town.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptondover, General Manager at Hampton Inn Dover, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to respond to our Trip Advisor survey. I do see that you had an issue with the smell in the room. I assure you that my team and I have addressed this issue and I do apologize for any inconvenience. We do hope that you will visit with us in the future.
Thank you.
Cindy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We were evacuated for Hurricane Sandy I booked this Hampton Inn because we needed a room for ourselves and our two cats. Since they took pets and we needed to leave asap our home we booked without reading any reviews. After a long drive with two cats in tow we were greeted at the desk by friendly and courteous staff. They cleaned our room early so we could check in upon arrival an hour early. The room was clean, comfortable and updated and a good size. The breakfast was better than any other Hampton Inn we have stayed at, it was hot and plentiful.We have stayed in at least 29 other Hampton's and our breakfasts here was superior to the others. Also after a state of emergency was declared in Delaware no none was allowed to be on the roads, the staff provided guests with hot dogs hamburgers and snacks for dinner. The Hampton Inn in Dover in my opinion went over and above what is expected for service and hospitality, and I would stay there again with or without my pets while traveling. I will tell all my friends and family to stay there when in the Dover area. I cant thank them enough for providing us and our pets with refuge from a hurricane and making our evacuation less stressful for us and our pets.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptondover, General Manager at Hampton Inn Dover, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to respond to our trip advisor survey. We always appreciate your comments as they help us to improve our hotel. All of us here were very happy to accommodate you and your pets during hurricane Sandy and anytime that you visit with us. I am certainly glad that you were and are safe. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Churchton, MD
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

This Hampton is behind the Sheraton so you don't have any street noise. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room was more then adequate, with a frig, microwave a nice choosy chair with an ottoman, We were on the ground floor and this made our stay even more enjoyable. The hotel is only a mile from the casino, which we visited early in the evening before the crowds arrived.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy P, General Manager at Hampton Inn Dover, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to complete a trip adviser review. We always appreciate your comments as they help us to improve our hotel for you our valued guest.
Please let me know if there is anything at all that we may do to make your next stay better.

Thank you.
Cindy - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I checked into the Hampton Inn around midnight, after paying to stay at the Holiday Inn for 2 days but could not stay there due to smells. The clerk checked us into room 314 I checked out the room and found the bathtub to be very dirty on the bottom, it was almost black. I called the front desk and asked to be changed to a different room. I went down to the front desk to get the new room assignment but the clerk tells me, "it's just the matrerial used on the tub and I told him my tub at home has a similiar finish but my tub is not black. Anyway we were given keys to room 300 and of course I checked the tub first and it was clean as the other one should have been. The beds were very comfortable and the rest of my 2 night stay went very well. The hot breakfast was great the cookies were great I asked where is the orange or lemon water but the guy said we dont do that at every Hpt Inn. I will stay here again on my next trip. The AC unit was a little loud. I am rating the service average because the desk clerk straight lied to me about the bathtub.

Room Tip: rooms away from the elevator is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptondover, Manager at Hampton Inn Dover, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear valued guest,
Thank you for your trip advisor response. please accept my sincere apology for any inconvenience during your stay. Please be advised that we were experiencing issues with the non skid tub coatings and I assure you that this has been addressed not only with the staff but also with the vendor and the problems are being corrected.
I do hope that you will visit us in the future.
Sincerely
Cindy P. GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Stayed on a Saturday night when the hotel and area were unexpectedly crowded. I felt the rate was high but apparently it was justified. Our room was small but clean - and it was only for one night. Mattresses wer VERY firm and pillow quality was unusually bad for Hampton. Breakfast was decent but, as the hotel was crowded, it was hard to find seats or enough food! Staff was working hard to refill and clean -- just couldn't keep up. Would use again if in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy P, General Manager at Hampton Inn Dover, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you for your trip advisor response. I assure you that on very busy days such as this we do try to have proper staffing and I am very sorry that there was a problem during your stay. We will address any issues with our pillows. I do hope that you will visit with us again in the future.
Cindy-GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Dover? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Dover

Address: 1568 North Dupont Highway, Dover, DE 19901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Dover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Dover
#2 Business Hotel in Dover
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Dover 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Dover reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Dover Hotel Dover
Dover Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Dover, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.