We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Dover

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Dover to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Dover
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1780 North DuPont Highway, Dover, DE 19901   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Dover
Williamsport
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Nice Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

Staff is very friendly. Rooms are clean and very comfortable. Only good things to say about this location. My pick hotel when in Dover, DE

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayexdover, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dover, responded to this review, January 15, 2012
Thank you for staying with us many times! Our staff has been happy to assist you in having a comfortable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    45
    15
    2
    2
See reviews for
28
26
5
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

We have stayed here several times. The staff are always welcoming and friendly. The rooms are clean and the place is reasonably priced.
My only gripe was that they wouldn't match the internet price which was $9 cheaper. So if your in the lobby but haven't checked in yet, you can save by going on line to make your reservation.
Just a great overnight stop.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

This hotel was pretty standard for a Holiday Inn Express. The room itself was actually very nice - very spacious and a mini fridge. The continental breakfast was average for a continental. My only complaint was that the room wasn't well cleaned - it wasn't filthy or anything, but there were a few random q-tips and paper items spread around the floor that the cleaning staff had obviously missed.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayexdover, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dover, responded to this review, January 15, 2012
We want to thank you for your review! Many others have commented on the spacious rooms that we have. We like reviews as this is when we are able to have the feedback to ensure that our guests have the very best stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oconomowoc, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

This 13 year old property has recently been renovated (according to a housekeeping lady). The lobby is "Art Deco," large, and inviting. There is at least one com puter for guests to use in that area, as well as free, easy to use wi-fi in the rooms. Our check-in was quick. The room is really neat; great bed, practical furnishings, all with style. The bed has a reading light attached to the headboard. There are plenty of outlets for our plethora of gadgets. A great HD TV caps off the delightful room... Free breakfast will be served in the AM. In the meantime, coffee or tea can be enjoyed in our out of your room. Our room also has a fridge and microwav oven. The bathroom is typical for this pricepoint hotel. The only downside...no functioning pool. It's outdoors, and has been put to bed for the season. Great place; especially for business, or adults who don't need a pool for the kids.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing front; there is a fireman's party going on outside on the back patio with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayexdover, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dover, responded to this review, January 15, 2012
Thank you for your great review! Yes, our pool closes the day after Labor Day and we are sorry for the inconvenience. We do hope you will stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

Irene sent us packing from Rehoboth Beach to Dover (which incidentally received twice the rain that Rehoboth Beach did but that's another story..). Anyway, we had a very comfortable stay at the HI Express, the room was clean and the staff were very accommodating. And when I somehow misplaced our dog's leash, Joyce at the front desk quickly came to my rescue with one of hers. Would highly recommend the place for hurricane cover or just a pleasant stay in Dover. BTW -- had good sushi at Rice about 10 minutes away from there.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayexdover, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dover, responded to this review, September 15, 2011
Thank you for a wonderful review and we are happy to keep you safe! Hope you will stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011 via mobile

Had to travel away from our home in Ocean City, MD to avoid Hurricane Irene. We always pick Holiday Express because they take pets. We've never had an issue but this one was very well managed. The breakfast was excellent and it was more than a continental.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayexdover, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dover, responded to this review, September 15, 2011
Thank you for staying with us and we are happy that you felt safe during the recent hurricane.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011 via mobile

Am sitting at the pool as I write this review.
I am travelling with my parents and needed 2 rooms.
I emailed the hotel asking if possible for connecting rooms.
Within 30 minutes I had a reply from the manager telling me that he had organised this for me....impressive!
Checked in last night...very quick procedure and both rooms were ready and next to each other.
Rooms were spacious and clean and beds comfy.
The breakfast was excellent, always replenished and very well presented.
For what we paid we could NOT fault this hotel.....I honestly wonder sometimes what some people expect after you read some of their views....you won't go wrong here.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayexdover, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dover, responded to this review, September 15, 2011
THANK YOU for your excellent review. We are looking forward to having your family stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Dover? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Dover

Address: 1780 North DuPont Highway, Dover, DE 19901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Dover
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Dover 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dover is conveniently located just minutes from Dover Downs slots and race track, Dover AFB, Delaware State University, Wesley College, and all state government offices. Hotel features include a complimentary hot deluxe breakfast, free high-speed Internet, fitness room, business facilities, and meeting room space. Visit Dover, DE and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Dover reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Dover Hotel Dover
Holiday Inn Dover

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Dover, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.