We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing to rave about” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dover Mall

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Dover Mall
1365 North DuPont Highway, Dover, DE
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 3 Shopping in Dover
Type: Malls, Shopping
Attraction details
Dover, Delaware
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Nothing to rave about”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

This is a typical mall with the same old stores. Although there is Macy's and Boscov's.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    0
    6
    6
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dover, Delaware
Top Contributor
328 reviews 328 reviews
136 attraction reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
2,285 helpful votes 2,285 helpful votes
“"Old Style" one floor mall”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

As the other reviewers have stated, this is not a glitzy, big time mall. In fact, it is one of the "old school" malls, one story only, small versions of the flagship stores in the larger malls, and lots of little shops that come and go. The Macy's Department Store here is not even close to any other I have been to. The choices are limited, if you want any kind of higher end product you have to go up "north" to get it (i.e. 1,000 thread count sheets, or a top brand food processor). Conversely, the Boscov's Department Store is actually better than the new one in Newark, with more choices for women's clothing. I actually discovered that this Boscov's had a restaurant for the first time, and we did have an inexpensive lunch there while doing some holiday shopping. The Sears has a decent selection of tools. It seemed that there were quite a few empty stores for a while, but it seems with the economy picking up that many of those empty storefronts are now being utilized. Again, as stated before, after 3:00 pm when the local high schools get out the mall is crowded with teens. There is also a large Old Navy (outlet) store, JC Penney, Victoria's Secret, the usual jewelry stores, food shops, but sadly, no more book stores. It's a local "go to" mall, but when we want to do some serious shopping, we head either to PA or up to Christiana.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“A Nice Mall but not like Concord or Christiana Malls”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

I live in Wilmington. I've been to the Dover Mall a few times and thought it was pretty nice. Some of the stores are obviously off-brand independent sellers, some of the areas are dusty, and like any mall it has it's kiosks with annoying sellers working on commission.

Compared to the Concord and Christiana Malls in New Castle County, the Dover Mall has a very Southern feel-- which I think is best characterized by the fact that the Boscov's Department store in this mall has a restaurant. The numerous off-brand stores (reminded me of the sham which is called the Tri-State Mall in Claymont, DE but is no where near as run down) and tired look at this mall can be off-putting. The stores in this mall seemed better stocked with a larger selection. The security guards at this mall ride around on Segways which seems ridiculous. The mall is not crowded but has many high school and DSU students roaming around.

Overall, the Dover Mall is a good place to go shopping. However, if you like the glitz, glamour, and size of the Christiana Mall, this is probably not the place for you.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Plenty of Shops and Cinema”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

There are plenty of good shops and a comfortable cinema here, and plenty of parking.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dover Mall also viewed

 

Been to Dover Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dover Mall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.