We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In Dover? Don't be scared off by casino location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Doc Magrogans Oyster House

Doc Magrogans Oyster House
1131 N Dupont Hwy, Dover Downs Casino, Dover, DE 19901
+1 302-674-4757
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Doc Magrogans Oyster House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 176 Restaurants in Dover
Price range: $10 - $24
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Sandwiches, Oyster Bar
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
simpsonville,sc
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“In Dover? Don't be scared off by casino location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I grew up in Dover, and most of the good restaurants of the past have closed. This is a place with great food and atmosphere, and their prices are very reasonable. We consider ourselves crab cake experts, and Doc's had exceptional ones.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    44
    15
    16
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
delaware
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great restaurant inside Dover Downs Casino”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I love everything about this restaurant. The customer service is excellent. If you like sitting and watching the busy casino floor, this is a good place to eat. Great seafood and drinks.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnolia Delaware
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Great Food but...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The good news first. The food could not have been better, well prepared, well presented. One minor item, we ordered calamari with peppers for an appetizer. There were no peppers which detracted from the dish. When my friend mentioned it to the server she initially tried to point out a single tiny piece of what could have been a pepper but then went to the kitchen and brought out a small bowl of fresh flash fried peppers to add to the mix. Then it was equal to the rest of the meal.
The service was not bad but the servers were inexperienced. They did not clear the table between courses and sat a salad dish precariously half off the table. Drinks and water were slow to come. Dinner for four was a little over $170 with drinks and tip. For that one can expect a little better service to go with the quality of the food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaford, Delaware
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Not quite as good as I expected....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We were there a thappy hour (4-9 I think) and that is the only time I would go as their specials make mediocre more toleralbe. We had a couple of drinks. White Zinfandel (7oz) and way overpriced for a lower end brand and a Captain's Cuba Libre which was a special at 4.00. The Cuba Libre was very good and I would recomend it. We had their rendition of crab dip in a bread bowl which was okay (not enough crab imho) but the bread was over toasted... more like a giant crouton... I had the peel and eat shrimp which at 5.00 is a deal. The shrimp were a little overcooked but well sized. We had an order of Mahi which was quite good but the sides were lackluster at best. A side salad was typical if not a little sad looking. They were out of flounder and felt they were pushing the tilapia... not a great sign for a place that specializes in fish. Service was average at best. We would have had a couple of more drinks if our waiter was more attentive. (the rest. was not busy... we guess he was busy flirting)

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delaware
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Much more than oysters! .”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We go here frequently, they have 1/2 price appetizers and drink specials for their happy hour. They also have good deals on lobster dinners in the summer!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Doc Magrogans Oyster House also viewed

 

Been to Doc Magrogans Oyster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doc Magrogans Oyster House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.