We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fun place a good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of McGlynns Pub & Restaurant - Dover

McGlynns Pub & Restaurant - Dover
800 North State Street, Dover, DE 19901
3026740144
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
McGlynns Pub & Restaurant - Dover is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 171 restaurants in Dover
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: Southwestern, Irish, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: King
Pottstown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“fun place a good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We visitied McGlynn's Pub in Dover while visiting our daughter. We actually have been there twice, once in the dining room area and once at the bar. Food was good on both occasions and they have a very nice selection-soups/salads/burger/sandwiches/appetizers/entrees/pasta, etc.
We had more fun at the bar since it was a bit more lively and there was a really nice crowd there and the ages were mixed.
I recommend a visit!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    25
    34
    12
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Smyrna
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

This is the place to go on a Thursday evening for the all you can eat shrimp. The wait staff :Eddie" was the best. Never did Eddie allow our plates to go empty. Ask for the dinning room because the Bar area is really LOUD

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Delaware
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Birthday Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

My companion and I went to McGlynns for my birthday dinner. We wanted the Prime Rib, but it was gone early that evening. We both ordered the Rib Eye. We each had the Baked Potato, Green Beans and a salad; and I had a coffee with my dinner. Both dinners were prepared perfectly. No kidding, this was one of the best steak dinners ever in our dinning experience. Nicely presented, good proportions, prepared as we ordered and a great atmosphere. The food was only surpassed by the outstanding service. Would we return. Yes. I want to try the Prime Rib. Would I recommend to my friends and family. Yes.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delaware
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“I LOVE THIS PLACE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I love this place. So far i have only gotten appetizers but they were fantastic!!! They have specials for half price all day on monday which makes it even better. View is fantiastic. You get free popcorn. I have never been to the bar so don't knwo anything about that or how dinner is but lunch time is great. I cant complain about anything.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smyrna
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Shrimp night!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Wow what a great time on Thursday evening. We always ask for the very best waiter, Eddie who never fails to bring drinks and more shrimp before we ask. The noise in the bar area it to much to have a good meal with friends, u will leave with a headache sitting there. The dinning room is very nice.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McGlynns Pub & Restaurant - Dover also viewed

 

Been to McGlynns Pub & Restaurant - Dover? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McGlynns Pub & Restaurant - Dover, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.