We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For the price paid I would say this one a winner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mainstay Suites Dover

Best prices from these 9 sites
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Mainstay Suites Dover to your Saves list
Mainstay Suites Dover
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   201 Stover Blvd, Hwy 113 & Puncheon Run, Dover, DE 19901   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Dover
Bridgeville, DE
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“For the price paid I would say this one a winner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I booked this location which indicated a "kitchenette suite" a dishwasher, full size refrigerator, two burner stove top and a full size microwave for a competitive price for an average established hotel room. The room and hotel were neat and orderly and staff were friendly. Tried to change the room type given a King with a pullout sofa, but unable to get two queen as wanted.

I ALWAYS take advantage of the websites in which you "shop" to get the most valuable price for a hotel stay. That being said when I was told that the Main stay Suites in Dover took my bid for 69.00 plus fees I was pleased to find so man positive comments. The only thing that I was bothered with was the "energy green hotel" light switch which is in the bathroom, because after no movement is detected the lights go out and when you are in the shower that's a whole different story.

The breakfast offered a lot of fresh nice fruits and fruit salad, cold cereals, egg omletes and sausages, muffins, breads and bagels and waffles. Not bad a selection for a free breakfast of course coffee, tea, and fruit juices are served.

The location is not hard to find, except that it sits off the road by itself in like a empty parking lot.
Close access to Route 1, 13 and 113 and within two miles.

You are within 5 miles of the casino, plenty of restaurants, colleges and the mall and stores.

Room Tip: the rooms are a little crazy to find in my opinion. eating breakfast on a cold windy day you will g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MainStay S, Guest Relations Manager at Mainstay Suites Dover, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
We appreciate your feedback, thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    22
    6
    4
    4
See reviews for
24
19
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

My stay was almost 6 weeks, they took care of all my needs during that time .Would recommend mainstay too anyone.
I'm away from home alot and it's hard to find a place that makes you feel like you are at home. From housekeeping too the front desk and management make sure your comfortable.
Thanks Mainstay
D. Power

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MainStay S, Guest Relations Manager at Mainstay Suites Dover, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you so very much for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed a night and that was enough.we had to wait 1 hour to check in the hotel was sold out the night before but why they did not clean the rooms.for people with reservations I dont know. The room was the tinest I have ever stayed in.there was a connecting door and therevwss no sound proofing at all . I will not stsy here again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MainStay S, Guest Relations Manager at Mainstay Suites Dover, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
I apologize that your stay was an unpleasant one. Our check-in time is 3pm and the fact that your room wasn't ready at that time puzzles me. I apologize for the excessive noise as well, we do have a quiet policy that spans from 11pm to 8am.

Thank you for your comments and in the future please allow us the opportunity to accomodate your logding needs again to make it right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

The rooms were clean and in excellent condition. I found no major fault with anything except that the indoor pool isn't heated, nor is the pool room. The bedding could've been a bit nicer. If you have reason to be in Dover and aren't set on swimming during your trip, you could do a lot worse.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MainStay S, Guest Relations Manager at Mainstay Suites Dover, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
I do apologize that the indoor pool and pool room wasn't heated during your stay with us. We have since replaced the heating unit in the pool area. I also want you to know that we are in the process of updating the bedding in all of our suites, this will be completed by May.

Thank you for your feedback on these issues. It tells us what we are doing right, what we are doing wrong, and how we can improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

First they offer up a full kitchen but when you check in you find the rooms are cramped, no closet space and the kitchen is a microwave and 2 burner range top. So if you had needs for an oven, forget it. Provided dishes looked like they hadn't been washed. There was no table to eat at and the bed was less than a foot from the heating and ac unit that cycled on all night no matter what setting you had it on. It started off blowing cold air and then hot and it blew directly into your face all night. Staff was loud in the halls while they flirted with each other. On top of it the hotel must not care for their employees as there seems to be a lack of an employee break room so they eat in the customer lobby or at the front desk.

Also the minute you walk into the lobby you are greated with heavy cigarette smell and then a big chemical flowery smell of some cleaning agent. So yucky.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meadville, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

The room & bathroom were spacious. Easy to drive to all Dover & surrounding attractions. Pet friendly. The room needed a serious cleaning, all obvious surfaces were clean but the corners, cracks, and behind things were very dirty (dirt/dust/food crumbs).

Room Tip: It is pet friendly, so you hear occasional barking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Everytime I travel to Dover this is my go to place. Very clean, helpful desk associates, extremely comfortable beds.best part pet friendly . Very convent to Dover downs and many places to eat. They have a wonderful breakfast .

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mainstay Suites Dover? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mainstay Suites Dover

Address: 201 Stover Blvd, Hwy 113 & Puncheon Run, Dover, DE 19901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Dover
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mainstay Suites Dover 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make MainStay Suites your number one! Whether in town for a day or a month, a business traveler or leisure traveler, we have accommodations! Located centrally between the International Airport of Philadelphia, Washington, DC, and BWI Airport any commute is within minutes. Amenities include free deluxe breakfast, indoor pool, complimentary wired/wireless internet, fitness center and business center. Suites include a full size fridge, microwave, dishwasher, 2-burner cook-top, and sleeper sofas.Local attractions include the Air Mobility And Command Museum, Dover Downs Casino, the Monster Mile, historic museums, beaches, Tanger Outlets and plenty more. We are a repeat Gold Award winning hotel for excellent customer service!!!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mainstay Suites Dover reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mainstay Suites Dover, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.